Image

In Memoriam

In Memoriam

There’s a new star
In the sky tonight.
Pixel.
I’ve never found it so hard
To photograph, to write.
He is lost from this world now.
He burned so bright in life.
He shone.
Suddenly he is gone
And I am lost.

Daily Prompt: The Zone
Photographers, artists, poets: show us LOST.

It’s strange that today’s prompt should be LOST. It brought the tears welling up again. The last time I got my lighting out to photograph one of my Orchids, Pixel was trying to eat the plant nearly as fast as I could photograph. This is an empty house today yet filled with grief.

12 comments on “In Memoriam

  1. Pingback: A Photograph and a Poem: Lost | Bastet and Sekhmet

  2. Pingback: The Zone: Zen Salad | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: Driving With Sandy (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  4. Oh Sarah, I’m so sorry to hear this. Losing a pet is like losing a family member. I’m sure you have many wonderful memories to reflect upon. My thoughts are with you….time will help.

    • He was so young, a year! When Pan passed away last year it was hard and it hurt but he was older and had been fighting heart disease for over a year. We made the right decision on having him put to sleep when we did and that makes it easier to come to terms with the loss. Pixel had been run over, most likely in the car park for our flats, then the callous driver decided to hide what had happened by dumping his little body round the very back of one of the buildings. Time does heal, this is going to be a really ugly scar though 😦 Thank you for your thoughts x

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Getting Into The Zone | My Daily Prompt Blog

  6. Sarah, what happened to him? I thought he was a young cat and looked very fit. I am equally shocked and saddened to hear this news. A very sad day indeed. My heart goes out to you.
    xx

    • He was only a year old 😦 He’d been run over, most likely in the car park for our flats, then the callous driver decided to hide what had happened by dumping his little body round the very back of one of the buildings. We’re still in shock really. So glad Simon’s been off work today and for tomorrow too (hospital for me!). We went down to Wisley today to find a bit of joy. It was so peaceful there today which was really nice for us both. I lost a cat to the roads once before, about 15yrs ago. In Chillworth, so quiet countryside! That’s why I adopted Pan as a house cat before. He was agoraphobic. I thought I’d got past my fears and Pixel didn’t like to go too far from his windows. Heartbroken 😦 Thank you for your thoughts Jude xxx

Leave a Reply

