Image

Living Art

Living Art

I love orchids but I have such difficulty in keeping them alive! This little beauty was inexpensive so I couldn’t resist bringing it home and giving it another go, with the RHS advice in mind.

14 comments on “Living Art

  1. Lovely flower! I have one orchid that keeps on flowering, though I really neglect it. I did find that putting it into a cooler dark room for a few months after flowering, then bringing it into a sunnier spot worked. Also not to cut the old flower stem right down, as some new buds can grow from it! But I am no expert ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I think I’ve often been letting the roots get too wet! There’s nowhere in the flat that’s really quite right for orchids too, either too much or too little light and the windowsills can be quite drafty too. I shall follow the RHS advice, which includes that rest period after they’ve flowered, and see how it goes!

  2. Less water is best….I almost feel as though I’m neglecting orchids….but they love to be dry. They grow high up in trees with warm air around their roots:-)
    Your photo is beautiful….you shoot flowers so well Sarah

Leave a Reply

