Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

Threshold: the starting point of an experience, event, or venture

Krista Stevens set the challenge this week and she shares her thoughts on the theme “A threshold is a point of entering; that point just before a new beginning β€” that split-second moment in time, full of anticipation. All the hard work is over; relief is palpable.”

Five month old Bert, the Bengal Eagle Owl, is on the threshold of his career with Xtreme Falconry as he performed his first public flight this weekend at RHS Wisley Gardens!

He was rather distracted by the sight and sounds of all the people and the garden birds. Not surprising for such a young owl! Bert certainly made us laugh with his antics of procrastination! He really took his time but with some persuasion from Martin, he finally spread those glorious wings. I’m so glad that we stayed to watch this magic moment despite the chill weather.

Seeing this Bengal (or Indian) Eagle Owl brought back some special childhood memories of my first close encounters with birds of prey. I’ve found some old slides, taken by my dad, of fellow artist, photographer and falconer, David, myself and a fluffy Bengal owlet called Sammy πŸ™‚

Bert’s fabulous flight has also inspired a new poem. Watching or flying birds of prey is a truly wonderful experience! The supreme speed of the falcons, the soaring long-wings, hovering kestrels, pack-hunting hawks and the silence of the owls.

Hunter

Perfectly poised
On the very brink
The threshold of flight
Feathered sails soar
On unseen air currents
Slicing swift and silent
Ghosting a path
Through the fading light
The shadow of a scimitar
Haunting the skies
Searching, seeking out
Where your mark lies
Unaware, unable to detect
The soundless spectre
This noble hunter
Resolute in purpose
Your objective set
Great golden orbs
Aglow with intelligence
Tubular eyes fixed
Firmly upon the quarry
The very sustenance
Upon which your grace
And power depends
The target is locked
Armament deployed
Scything spurs extend
The axe falls

15 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

  1. Pingback: Hurry up, dude! | Words 'n Pics

    • Thanks Susan πŸ™‚ Owls are wonderful! I love going to falconry displays. It’s not easy to get to see many of our wild owls, they’re very good at staying hidden. I know there are Tawny Owls living in my road. We have lots of really large chestnut trees and I can hear the owls in there somewhere but I’ve not been able to pinpoint exactly where they are or get a glimpse of them!

  2. Pingback: My Little Cuddle Buddy. | B.Kaotic

  3. Pingback: WordPress challenge: Threshold | The Wandering Poet

  4. I’m checking these on my phone and will look more closely later, but these are amazing images of the owl! Seems everyone has an owl pic but me lol. Lovely poem too. Thank you for the follow! Right back at’cha!

    • I’ve been getting really annoyed with the reader on my phone app! It only seems to update to the most recent 20 posts so if I’m not on the computer for a while I get really behind on everyone’s posts. I’m going to try and get myself together and get some black and white images sorted out to send in to you and Leanne. I’ve really enjoyed the galleries so far! I do love birds of prey πŸ™‚ What I don’t have in my portfolio is wild owls! Need to remedy that. Thanks for following me too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

