Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

I spent a lovely, sunny afternoon sitting in Trafalgar Square this week! I’d met my brother at Oxford Circus, for lunch near his offices, and had a few hours spare before Simon and I went to an intriguing meeting at the British Computer Society’s London offices.

The square itself is a monument to the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805. Nelson’s Column stands in the centre of the square looking south toward The Palace of Westminster and Big Ben. To the north is one of my favourite buildings in London, The National Gallery.

The stairs to the Upper Terrace and the Gallery are flanked by two of the squares famous plinths. To the left, in the northeast, on The Fourth Plinth, stands Hahn/Cock by Katharina Fritsch and to the right is King George IV on the northeast plinth.

The National Gallery

For all of you who have a love of art, no visit to the city of London is complete without visiting both the National Gallery and the National Portrait Gallery. This is a very relaxed part of the city, with great access to other areas either by foot or by Tube from Charring Cross. It’s a great place to start your day-out from!

10 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

  1. I am familiar with this area. So many memories. I remember when it was a big roundabout and the cars would bustle around it. A long time ago. The London Coliseum on St. Martin’s Lane is where my mother’s career in opera was based so, as you might imagine, I visited this area a lot. … Thanks for the memory. Great images! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Dorothy πŸ™‚ The area holds precious memories for me too, particularly from school and art college days. Important transitions from enquiring child to emerging young artist! The square seems to have more of a sense of tranquillity to it these days with the flow of traffic altered and fewer pigeons. It’s still very busy of course but it feels more like a place to stop, rest and observe rather than just a crossroads. Did you ever photograph your mother at the Coliseum? I’ve never been to the opera myself but I know the theatres of the area well πŸ™‚ Glad to have brought you some fond memories! Your horse photography brings back many happy memories for me from my riding days and also of the horse painting and drawing that I did so much of when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

