Image

Monochrome Madness: Best Friends

Monochrome Madness: Best Friends

Monochrome Madness: Best Friends

This is Mylie with their family dog, Samui. Taking this photograph transported me to my childhood, reminding me of the relationship my siblings and I had with our first family pet, William. I thought it would be a great entry for Monochrome Madness.

Monochrome Madness is a weekly challenge set up by blogging friends, Leanne Cole and Laura Macky. I love both of their blogs! Lots of inspiration, advice and wonderful images.

22 comments on “Monochrome Madness: Best Friends

      • Our dog is pretty big but he loves our 3 year old niece and she adores him. They sit on the steps and he towers over her and yet she is bossing him around. Quite funny really. πŸ˜€

      • Oh bless! We saw a wonderful Great Dane whilst we were all out with the kids. They were stunned! I did get a few photos of him that I’ll post at some point. Samui is a Cairn Terrier x Staff, he has a wonderful nature! What dog do you have? I grew up with Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, small with enormous personalities πŸ˜‰

      • He is a rescue dog, a mongrel found in a ditch with his siblings and Mum. But he sure is beautiful. Half Collie Half Hound (something like Pointer / Anglo French Hound). You should be able to see the Mutt in my People and Pets section – he’s brown and white.

  1. That is so sweet. The soft focus you’ve used is so appropriate. It lends a kind of dream-like quality to your capture. As a child, I too had a dog that I completely adored. Your image made me smile, remembering.

    • Thanks Betty πŸ™‚ Glad to have made you smile! I wanted it to be dream-like, glad to hear that you felt that from the photo. I hope others will have similar fond memories rekindled from seeing Mylie and Samui πŸ™‚

    • Aww thank you Jude! That means a lot to me πŸ™‚ I focussed on portraiture and life drawing as a fine art painter, so being able to transfer my love of this art into photography was really important to me! I think most people who had a pet when they were a youngster have really special memories of that bond. To me, William was the best dog in the world, ever!

  2. I like the photo – I like the high-key look Beyond that I like how the child is obviously aware of being photographed but by her body language is completely safe and confident in showing how much she feels close to her dog.

    • Thanks David πŸ™‚ Yes, we were having a picnic in the park and Mylie was just having a cuddle with Samui. The pose and light was so lovely that I just asked her to look my way a bit. It feels like a natural photo rather than a set pose because it mostly is πŸ™‚ The kids absolutely adore their furry friend!

Leave a Reply

