23 comments on “Silent Sunday

  1. I have a photo of this moth caterpillar! Will be posting in a walk around Rye Harbour. Have to say yours is far superior! My excuse is that I had to rush the shots to keep up with the guide πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Jude. It’s the Cinnabar Moth and being in the quarry there was lots of ragwort which it feeds on so we saw quite a few of them πŸ™‚ I loved this photo with it actually clutching the flower. We found a few other moth caterpillars but I still need to identify them!

    • Thanks Lisa! Good to hear that you let “weeds” grow for butterflies and caterpillars. The Cinnabar only feeds on ragwort which is stripped away from so many parts of the countryside as it’s poisonous to horses and grazing farm stock. I found several other moth caterpillars at the quarry site but I didn’t recognise them so I shall be researching them this week πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful. Saw these when I was back in England over the summer and thankfully had my camera. They’re brilliant aren’t they? Do you happen to know which moth or butterfly they belong to, Sarah?

Leave a Reply

