12 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Powis Castle

      • Mmm… you spotted my hesitation there. Not sure. I like the pinkness of the stone, but not sure about the sky. I like it even though it looks artificial, but then I know the place so I guess I know what it looks like without the vibrant colours. What did you do to it as a matter of interest? Just up the saturation? Or is it HDR?

      • I’m so glad people can give honest criticism on WordPress! I was testing some blending techniques in Photoshop as I really didn’t like the sky in the original photos. Partly my own fault for have forgotten to take all my filters with me! I should have used a polariser and ND Grad filter for the original photos to bring out detail in the sky whilst keeping the gardens nice and bright. I did process the images in Lightroom in what is often thought of as HDR styling; high contrast, drop highlights and whites, reduce shadow and black, increase clarity and vibrance, sharpen and reduce noise. I do like this edit but I was sure I could do better so I’ve revisited it today, starting from scratch again, and I think I’ve improved the final image greatly! I’ll create a post all about it and how the feedback of others can really help us all with our work 🙂 Thank you Jude!

      • Glad to help 😉
        Actually I enjoy posts where people explain the techniques they use and the effects (before and after) as it helps all of us to be better photographers. Your editing skills are way above mine so I am a very eager student!

      • I often think that I’d like to do more complex posts every now and again where I can take people through the entire process of creating a piece of photographic art. Then my fatigue etc gets the better of me and I run out of time 😦 I’m way behind with my posts this week! My Mum, however, is always saying that I shouldn’t give away my secrets 😉 I’ve learnt digital processing mainly by trial and error! As far as I’m concerned, there’s no such thing as a right or wrong way of creating any art. Some people really hate HDR but I find some pieces simply stunning! It’s art, anything goes. I’ll try to be as descriptive as I can in the next Powis post 🙂

      • I have seen some amazing examples of HDR done well and some horrors. I think a lot of people are daunted by editing their photos and even some help with simple things like cropping, adjusting colour/contrast/light levels and removing blemishes would be helpful to many. I love to experiment and learn by doing, but I know that isn’t for everyone.

Leave a Reply

