Image

Travel Theme: Interior

Brooklands Museum-73

Travel Theme: Interior

I’m so glad that Ailsa picked this topic for Travel Theme as it forced me to search my folders for inspiration. I discovered a whole treasure trove of unprocessed photos, from both DSLR and my phone, of Brooklands Museum from almost a year ago! All these images are from the different areas inside the museum and some are the insides of engines and a variety of automobiles, old and new!

My first gallery has some family photos with my friend Sam, her children and her sister, Charlotte’s two boys. Amazing to see Matthew only a couple of months old! I love the photos I got of both Zach and Callum inside the F1 race car πŸ™‚

My second gallery is from inside the London Bus Museum which is within the grounds of Brooklands itself. The boys were so excited about this exhibit! It was really hard to get them out again.

The Museum sits on the site of the world’s first purpose-built motor racing circuit, constructed in 1907. Brooklands was the birthplace of British motorsport and aviation, home of Concorde and the site of many engineering and technological achievements throughout eight decades of the 20th century. Of course it’s far more than a simple museum with scores of events held throughout the year! This last gallery shows many of the exhibits from the main interior of this brilliant venue.

10 comments on “Travel Theme: Interior

  1. I love how your mind works. And the photos! These are some of the best photos I’ve ever seen of museums, regardless how good the museum! Both places have that rare combination of appeal for children and adults. Delightful post.

    • Ha ha! I think it’s fair to say that I have a very busy mind πŸ˜‰ Thank you for a wonderful comment Ardys! I can never come away from a place that intrigues me without hundreds of photos. I’ve always been a bit of petrol head and even used to ride a motorcycle! Always dreamed of having a Norton which is why they’re well featured in the blog. It’s not just the mechanics of things though that intrigues me, but the artistry of engineering too. There’s so much beauty in the details! I love exploring places with the children, though they’re not always as obsessed with all the exhibits as I am πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Robin πŸ™‚ Yeah, I can get a bit carried away at places that really pique my interest! I’m so fortunate that it’s actually right on my doorstep. Nice to be able to share so much of one of my favourite museums! Glad you’ve enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

