Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

Wildlife in The Garden: The Lookout

Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

After my success at having an image chosen for the RHS Photographic Competition Calendar last year (2015 Calendar) with my photograph Round Robin, I am putting a selection of images forward, for this year’s competition, in the hope of being published again! My dream, of course, would be to have the cover image! This is a gallery of my favourites for the relevant categories, but I may not be able to include them all because of costs. I would really appreciate it if you, my lovely followers, could help me choose the favourites by “liking” them in the gallery or advising me in a comment! Thank you all πŸ™‚

55 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

  1. Well, Sarah, this is an absolutely staggering collection of images, the quality here is amazing. There are such a lot of good material to choose from. OK, my candid thoughts. I think the quality of the wildlife shots above those that include people and so I’d exclude the latter.

    Taking it from the top, my choice for submission is: Brimstone; The Lookout; Naturally Extruded; Golden Rain; A Rose By Any Other Name; Autumn Glory; Golden Spring; Yellow On Blue; Spider On A Buttercup. Is that any help?

    I like these photos so much that I’m going to reblog this on FATman Photos. Really excellent photography, my friend. Adrian

    • Thank you so much for your comment, choices and the reblog Adrian! You and the others have really helped πŸ™‚ Your choices are all some of my favourites! Mum and Dad decided they wanted to help toward the cost as they loved all the images so I’ve been able to enter a few more than I’d originally thought I could πŸ™‚ It’s done now! I know it’s going to be quite a long wait to hear anything but if I’m successful I will certainly be posting about it πŸ˜€

  2. Reblogged this on FATman Photos and commented:
    Sarah Longes is a blogging friend of mine; I follow her beautiful blog. She has posted a selection of images here, some of which she will submit to the Royal Horticultural Society for possible use in their 2015 calendar. She welcomes any views on these pictures, to help her in her choice for the submission. I’m simply blown away by the quality of many of these images. Those I especially like are:Taking it from the top, my choice for submission is: Brimstone; The Lookout; Naturally Extruded; Golden Rain; A Rose By Any Other Name; Autumn Glory; Golden Spring; Yellow On Blue; Spider On A Buttercup. What do you think? To see these pictures at a larger size, which is really the way that they should be seen, click onto any one of them and you’ll be taken into a slide show, where there are arrows on either side that let you move forwards or backwards. Pressing Esc takes you out of the slideshow. Enjoy! Adrian

    • Thank you Leanne! Macro opens up a whole new world for artistic experimentation πŸ™‚ I’ve made my entries but they usually have thousands from all over the world so I can never get my hopes up! Art is so subjective, it’s impossible to tell what the judges thoughts will be. I’ll keep you posted but it could be quite a while before they announce winners. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do when your macro lens arrives!

    • He he πŸ™‚ Thanks Robin! Well the Lookout robin has been entered. Now it’s the waiting game but with thousands of entries I can’t get my hopes up! Still really chuffed to have Round Robin in the 2015 Calendar for December πŸ™‚

  3. What a fantastic selection of images……these really showcase your talent Sarah. Every single one appeals to me and I think that’s because they are the sort of images that I like to take as well…..macro/nature; landscape/buildings and candid people shots.

    • Thanks Mark πŸ™‚ My parents have given me some money to be able to enter a few more than I’d thought I’d be able to, so a couple of the candid shots have made it through along with lots of macro, wildlife and seasonal images! Fingers, toes etc crossed πŸ˜‰

  4. I found your post through Adriane Lewis (FATman Photos) blog. These are really gorgeous. I “liked” those that I thought would make beautiful submissions in the gallery. I hope that works for you. If not, just let me know. I am happy to write them here. What a talent you are. Bravo!

  5. Hi, Sarah: This is a great set of images. After looking at them all, I then tracked down the RHS site and found their five top selections from the 2013 competition as a way to get a better idea of what they are looking for. (I’m sure you’ve done the same but thought I anted to see what you will be competing against.) All of your proposed images are great, but the goal here is RHS selection, so here are my thoughts: I agree with one of the previous comments about dropping the images with people in them. Second, there are several that have a strong central image but little or no detail in the background (e.g., Arterial and Golden Rain) so I would suggest setting them aside as well. For me, the strongest 2 candidates would be Beautiful Blue (1) and Yellow on Blue (2). If your budget allows a third entry I would include The Lookout. I’d rank Nuthatch at the Feeder as Number 4 and, if location permits are not an issue, Wisely in Winter as Number 5. One suggestion on post-processing if that is allowed. Yellow on Blue could use a little selective sharpening on the bee and the same thing for the bird in The Lookout. I should hasten to reiterate that all of these are great images and if you don’t get at least one selected by the RHS, I will be stunned. Good luck and please let us all know what your final choices are.

    • Thanks Robin!! I’ve been given a bit of money toward the entries πŸ™‚ I took your advice and added some extra sharpening and clarity to the bee and robin. I’m often wary of overdoing the processing for nature competitions but both subjects worked well without looking unnatural to the eye! Fortunately location issues aren’t a problem when the garden is an RHS one. There are thousands of images entered every year from all over the world so I can’t have high hopes! It’s very subjective and almost impossible to tell what the judges may be looking for each year. Past winners and runners up are often quite awe inspiring! I’m so proud to have one of my images in the 2015 calendar πŸ™‚

      • Thanks, Sarah. I know how unpredictable these competitions are, especially high level ones such as this one. Regardless of the results, however, you have a bunch of very strong candidates and hopefully the judges will come through with the right decision.

  6. Such stunning pictures. Agree with all the comments, though would keep the one of planting bulbs as well. Wisley in Winter bea on bluebell, then it gets too difficult because I love them all πŸ™‚

  7. Wow Sarah, so many beautiful photographs. Spoilt for choice. Favourites for me are the robin in the snow (to the left of the shot), the canvas of multi-coloured acer (?) leaves, the narcissi, the winter manor house, and the bee on ajuga (I think it’s ajuga?!). Good luck!! You will let us know, won’t you?!

    • Thanks so much for your input Jenny! There were some very clear agreements on this selection and it definitely confirmed my favourites πŸ™‚ I should know for sure by the beginning of December! As I’m saying to everyone, there are thousands of images entered every year and all of a very high standard so there’s an element of luck to it. Fingers crossed!

  8. Glorious images Sarah – a real celebration of colour and talent . Best of luck with the competition … I see only a month to sit tight waiting !
    I love the brimstone particularly, seeing one of these as the first butterfly of the year is a harbinger of a happy Summer . According to the Moomins πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Poppy! The Moomins are quite right (and also brilliant!), the brimstone is usually the first butterfly I see on a warm Spring day πŸ™‚ Happy to say it is one of the ones that made the cut! Yes, I should know by December. Thousands of amazing entries of course so I’ll need a bit of luck too!

  9. Wonderful set of images Sarah – you have some really strong contenders for the comp (my favourite, though hard to choose is Wisley in Winter). Best of luck – I’ve also entered a few this year πŸ™‚

    • Oh cool πŸ™‚ It’s so hard making final choices isn’t it? Are your selections on your blog? There are some of the winners from last year and from international garden photographer of the year on display in the gardens at Wisley right now. They look fantastic! Good luck to us both πŸ™‚

  10. Wow Sarah – I love your work. A breathtaking set of images.
    I do agree. You are so talented. Inspiring πŸ˜„
    Wishing you success!!!
    I kept going through your gallery… The people and bird shots are so beautiful, but the chrysanthemums caught my eye, especially Naturally Extruded. Stunning!

  11. Pingback: I Too, Have Known Autumn Too Long | The World Is a Book...

  12. It seems like you already submitted your choices, Sarah. But just to add my two cents: my 4 favorites are: “Autumn glory”, “Yellow on blue, “Beautiful Blue, and “The Lookout.” They all have great composition, subject matter, striking color, and sharpness of image. Well done!

  13. Bah, I am trying to stop barraging you with “likes” but with each post I keep crumbling apart as I go through your beautiful and crackling images. It has been too long since my last visit!!

  14. Pingback: RHS Photographic Competition Winner 2014 | Taking One Day At A Time

Leave a Reply

