Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

The Shard

Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

What does angular mean to me? Only my favourite building in the whole of London! The Shard. I’m drawn to this building in ways I can’t fully explain. I was never really a fan of modern architecture. Some have intrigued me, others disgusted me, many have amused me but The Shard fascinates me. I’ve really enjoyed processing my photographs, the building lends itself perfectly to artistic interpretations!

Its angular design, sleek lines and sharp edges, seem more like a sculpture to me than a building. It has an intrinsic beauty from every aspect that just cries out to be photographed! I can’t resist it. I’ve been up to the viewing platforms several times now and I hope to get back up there soon to capture some night views of the city. The Views from The Shard really are the icing on the cake!

I delayed posting for the challenge this week, as I had another trip to hospital in London yesterday giving me the opportunity to see some fresh angles of The Shard. All my earlier images are from the south of The Thames so I ventured over to the north bank of the river by The Tower of London to get a different vantage point. Everyone seemed to be drawn to the riverside to gaze upon this masterpiece of architecture and construction!

20 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

  1. beside the building , I liked your expression the most onto it. We might be a title bit lured by the nice creations but in fact you expressed it to become nice , That I liked beside the views. When presented single without the presence of other objects and tourist , it became a little yours. One can see this if one is enjoying this . Is jt london and the building or it is the building , you only know 😉

  2. Such fantastic photos! We were mesmerized by the Shard each time we passed thru London Bridge Station (which we seemed to do a few times a day..i swear i spent more on the Oyster Card than on food! 😏😏) I hope to actually go to the observation deck there in March…hey, let’s plan to meet up there? How cool would that be?
    .

    • I think that would be great 😀 Hopefully we can get a nice clear day and I can show you the whole of London from above! The city starts to make a bit more sense when you see it from up there 😉 Yes, transport can be expensive here. I do know a very reasonably priced Italian Cafe just round the corner from The Shard too 🙂

  3. I live near the Shard and have had some heated arguments with a friend recently who believes the Shard to be a monstrosity. When he first said this I thought he was joking as I couldn’t believe that anyone could despise such an iconic, enticing and enthralling building. Your beautiful post reminds me that I am right; and he is wrong! Your photographs remind me of early images of the Eiffel Tower, which only serves to reinforce my view that this building is something pretty darned special. So thanks for doing it justice!

    • You and I are SOOOOO right 😀 It’s a work of art. I love how London merges the old and new so beautifully 🙂 Can’t wait to see Battersea Power Station rebuild finished! We should meet for a coffee when I’m up near London Bridge sometime. Thank you so much for that huge compliment, comparing these to the early images of the Eiffel Tower! To think that Eiffel was only intended to be a temporary structure, amazing!

Leave a Reply

