Image

One Four Challenge: December Week 1

December One Four Challenge Week 1

One Four Challenge: December Week 1

A new month, a new image and a whole new look! I’m going abstract for December’s challenge from Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me. As it’s the start of the silly season (Christmas!), I’ve chosen coloured lights as my subject. I’m going to be terribly mean to you all though and not reveal my original image until the very end of the month!

I’m working in Photoshop CC this month to create my abstracts. I’m using lots of layers but they’re all derived from the one image. I won’t add any extras in this month. Maybe for a future One Four?

The six layers in this image were treated with a combination of blurs and blended using four different modes. I adjusted contrast, saturation and levels. I finished by merging my layers and adding two canvas sizes, blue and black, to frame the abstract.

30 comments on “One Four Challenge: December Week 1

  1. Oh yes, you did go abstract – love it and I wondered if you’d make us wait…lol
    Sounds like you’ve had lots of fun creating for this week – looking forward to the next 3. Abstracts are so interesting!!
    Feels like a vortex! πŸ˜€

  2. I feel like I am starting an incredible time travel adventure! Looking forward to seeing where you go with this image. I always enjoyed abstract stain glass making and drawing, it is so relaxing for me. I wonder if photo editing in this way would have the same effect? Maybe I will have to see, one of these months. Love the colors!

    • Thanks Carrie πŸ™‚ I think I may have been influenced by Doctor Who with this one! Even my fiancΓ© looked at it and said that it reminded him of the time vortex. I’m intrigued about the stained glass work you have done as I’ve created a number of abstract photos from stained glass sculptures. Absolutely love them πŸ™‚ Coloured glass plus light makes for great fun art!

      • Indeed. It was a long time ago, but it always felt very freeing to just cut and place the pieces based on color. I love wandering around on a blank sheet of paper drawing abstractly too. It is very therapeutic for me.
        I haven’t ventured down the abstract photography path yet, I have a feeling it will find me soon enough, I love this challenge for that very reason, why not play around and do something out of the box, since there are 4 weeks to utilize.

  3. Wonderful, wonderful! love the colours and that frame just sets the abstract off beautifully, looking forward to next week.

  4. This is really neat, and now that you mention it, it totally reminds me of Doctor Who… you even got the color blue close to the TARDIS! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to the next versions.

    • Thanks Nic πŸ™‚ It is TARDIS blue! I hadn’t really thought of that. I really like Capaldi as the Doctor although there have been a few dodgy stories. The title sequence this series is great though! I love all the extra details in the vortex πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

