Image

Purple Friday

#PurpleFriday

Purple Friday – Part of Worldwide Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week

For any of my followers who don’t already know, I have Crohn’s. I was diagnosed nearly twenty years ago and have since undergone four major abdominal operations including having an ileostomy created; developed secondary Fibromyalgia, psoriasis, vulvodynia, ocular disease, dental disease, kidney stones, foliculitis, skin ulcers, allergies, abscesses, strictures, hair thinning and reflux; I’ve had countless colonoscopies, ileoscopies, barium meal x-rays, transfusions and blood tests; I’ve taken pretty much every medication ever used in Crohn’s, plus several more experimental treatments; I am now taking Azathioprine and Humira (adalimumab) injections which reduce my immune system, along with numerous other medications for symptoms of all my conditions and to counteract side-effects. I have a GREAT life; brilliant family and friends, two lovely cats, art and photography, poetry, music, travel, the great outdoors, the RHS, lots of children who aren’t mine but I love them all to bits, oh, AND next year I’m getting married to my wonderful man, Simon πŸ™‚

For #PurpleFriday, patients, their families and friends have all been wearing purple and taking selfies to tell their stories and raise awareness of Crohn’s and Colitis all over the world. Instead of a selfie, I decided that sharing some of my favourite purple floral-photos was a much better way of telling people about myself. After all, Crohn’s is only part of my story! It’s also a great way for me to say thank to Crohn’s & Colitis UK (CCUK) for all they have done for me over the years and to send a big hug out to everyone around the world affected by these illnesses.

This is a gallery of posters shared by CCUK this week to raise awareness, please feel free to share them!

28 comments on “Purple Friday

  1. I admire your attitude to life Sarah. It must be so painful and frustrating at times, but you refuse to let your illness take over. Your purple tribute is far better than a selfie (IMO) I love purple flowers and you know how much I love your photos. Have a great weekend my friend πŸ˜€
    Jude xx

  2. It take much courage, strength, patience… to deal with Crohn and go through these operations. But, you continue to bring beauty to us through you lens. Thank you so much, Sarah!

  3. Sarah .. You are such an amazing girl. I feel so privileged knowing you via the blogging world. You are so very talented .. Positive and caring! And what a brilliant attitude you have πŸ™‚ thank you so much for sharing your talent with us all .. And congratulations I bet he is a fantastic guy!

  4. What an amazing attitude to life you have, I’m sure that must help you so much. You are an example to us all! And amazing purple photos too, thanks so much for sharing. πŸ™‚

  5. You’re a fighter, a survivor and an optimist. I’m so glad to hear you have a nice life and am so happy you’ve found the man of your dreams. Lovely images from a lovely lady!

  6. What a wonderful attitude!! I know of Crohn’s disease and it’s terrible. Your top photo is so peaceful and the colour purple is very spiritual. Beautiful photos Sarah and many blessings. and I’m glad you have found the man of your dreams!!

    • Thanks Cybele! I’m very happy to have found him too πŸ™‚ Purple has always been a favourite colour of mine. When I was first diagnosed I’d never heard of Crohn’s or colitis before so I have done a lot of volunteering with CCUK over the years helping to raise awareness and funds. I don’t do much with them these days but I still like to spread the word. Fortunately, these days, many newly diagnosed patients have at least heard of the illness and don’t feel quite so alone!

  7. Beautiful photos and attitude. I use my photos as a way to brighten up my life – some positive vibes to lift my spirits when I am feeling lousy and it does make a difference. Take care of yourself. πŸ˜€

  8. Wonderful idea Sarah!!!! Wonderful photos….
    If I do not read you again this year, have a wonderful time with Simon and the rest of your loved ones!!! Hugs from Spain!

  9. So sorry I’m late commenting on this, It’s always good to raise awareness of chronic illness. So many people just don’t understand that just because you’re ‘sick’ you can still have good days and enjoy life!

    Beautiful purples by the way, my favourite colour πŸ™‚

    • No need to apologise Lisa! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚ I think a lot of people think that sick people should just be staying inside being miserable! I like to do as much as I can with my good days πŸ™‚ Purple has always been my favourite colour too! It’s a happy colour πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

