Image

RHS Photographic Competition Winner 2014

Seasons: Winter at Wisley

RHS Photographic Competition Winner 2014

On Friday morning I received an incredibly exciting email. My photograph Winter at Wisley had been awarded 1st place in the Seasons Category of the RHS Photographic Competition 2014! I’ve had to keep the news secret until the awards were made public today. It’s not been easy! If I hadn’t almost lost my voice to a seasonal bug, I’d be shouting it from the rooftops. I owe a great deal of thanks to all my followers here on WordPress, not just for the encouragement you all gave me when picking my selections for the competition, but also for the support that you’ve given me since I started blogging almost two years ago. The photographic community we share is inspiring and I’ve learnt so much from you all!

The Rock Garden

In fact I started this blog only three weeks before this image was taken! The snows of early 2013 may gone, but they’re certainly not forgotten and, for me, they never will be. It was also during those winter snows that I captured a photograph called Round Robin, that is featured as the December image for the RHS Photographic Competition Calendar 2015. Last Winter was a disappointing one weather wise, for many across the UK is was more than that, it was devastating. Although my fiancΓ©, Simon, hates the cold I really hope that it’s snow instead of the incessant winds and rain from a year ago that will come our way over the next few months! I know exactly where I’ll be when the snows come πŸ˜‰

It was great to get feedback from the judges that indicated that I really do achieve my goals of trying to capture the magic of a moment, letting viewers see the world from my own perspective. This is what they said:

β€œRHS Garden Wisley is a popular subject for many garden photographers, but few are able to capture that balance between a wintry morning, a layering of snow and the warming tones of sunlight – all at the same time. This image brings all these elements together and more – the iced water, the movement from the fountain, the shape of the planting, and the beautiful interest of the Laboratory itself, combine to make a beautiful photograph. Like all good images, the viewer can imagine actually standing there looking out over the water, and feel the chill of the cold”

Well it’s most definitely not been a Blue Monday for me but I will share this with Sally’s weekly challenge for the beautiful blue tones in the skies and reflected in the snow! I’ve added a few extra photos to the post to show you some reworked (in Nik Colour Efex Pro) seasonal images from the Winter at Wisley and Round Robin photo shoots. I’ve also linked to this week’s WPC: Gone But Not Forgotten for the White Christmas we haven’t had for years but I’m hoping will come again!

The Glasshouse

 

97 comments on “RHS Photographic Competition Winner 2014

  1. This is brilliant news, Sarah, and well deserved. Your images are so memorable, for the very reasons you have won this award. So glad you share your images with us.

    • Thanks so much Ardys πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that I started blogging and have become a part of this great community! Just seeing everyone’s photographs from around the world is wonderful and it’s a very knowledgeable and supportive community too. It’s not always easy entering competitions, art is so very subjective, but it’s the best feeling in the world when you get placed πŸ˜€

  2. Congratulations, Sarah! Your work deserves all the accolades it gets! I love the winter scene, but I have to tell you, those wonderful little birds are after my heart. Those folks are right, I could reach out and touch the little birds! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks George πŸ™‚ I just love our garden birds and robins have held a special place in my heart since childhood! I can often be spotted in the garden or at Wisley having an animated conversation with one of my feathered friends πŸ˜‰ That robin was the most puffed up I have ever seen a bird in winter! He got extra mealworms that day lol πŸ˜€

  3. *Many Congratulations* Sarah ! I was reading The Telegraph late last night and …. there I saw your winning photograph and name published .. how fantastic . Gorgeous pictures .. all of them .

    • Thanks Poppy πŸ™‚ I have to say it was a pretty surreal day yesterday as various friends started posting pics from the papers with my photo in them! My friend, Amanda, had great fun with it on her way to work in London as it was in the Metro so we pointing it out to people πŸ™‚ Then I discovered it was in the Times too!! I’m so chuffed πŸ™‚ It’s such an accolade to be placed in this competition!

  4. WOOT!! As they say in the USA! Well done Sarah – that is a lovely photo, the warmth of the sunlight and I also think the clouds, help to create a winning shot. I am so happy for you! AND I must buy the new RHS calendar then I will have the added joy of your lovely Round Robin! Well deserved – hope you received a nice prize too πŸ˜€
    Jude xx

    • Told you I had exciting news πŸ˜‰ Thanks Jude! I pretty much collapsed in a heap on the floor on Friday when I got the email. I loved the clouds on that day, so wispy πŸ™‚ The half moon is up just behind the laboratory too! I’m putting a bit of the money to the wedding fund and shall be able to get another lens that I’ve had my eye on with the rest πŸ™‚ Yesterday was so surreal as the news went out in all the papers! I hadn’t actually thought about that and now my photo is in the Times, Telegraph and Metro πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re having fun xx

  5. Congratulations!!!! That is such wonderful news and richly deserved! I love these wintery scenes and the comment that was made seems to have hit the nail on the head. I’m so happy for you. Keep on doing it!

  6. I feel so excited for you Sarah and yes, absolutely well deserved!!
    I want to rush right over and hug you too πŸ˜€
    Your dear dear little Robin is an absolute favourite of mine – so perfect!!
    The gardens at Wisely are gorgeous, as is your photograph – I love what the judges said – recognition described perfectly.
    Huge congratulations You!! Just so exciting!! xx

  7. Sarah: This is fantastic news! I’m a little late to the party but I wanted to add my congratulations to those from all the others. This is a well deserved recognition of your talents and I fully expect more to come your way. What a fabulous way to wind up a year.

  8. Pingback: Street Lights For Cee’s Black and White | The World Is a Book...

  9. Pingback: Steve: The Apple (Orange) of My Eye | Ramisa the Authoress

  10. Pingback: 5 Day Black and White: Day 5! | The World Is a Book...

Leave a Reply

