Image

One Four Challenge: December Week 3

One Four Challenge: December Week 3

One Four Challenge: December Week 3

I’ve taken some inspiration this week from the Weekly Photo Challenge: Twinkle. I also wanted to make more of a feature of the original subject. I’ve created so many adjustment layers and new background layers for further adjustment that it’s a bit too hard to explain my process step by step! Much of what I do when I’m creating an abstract is unconscious experimentation. To me it feels a lot like the process of painting with oils, creating layers of tone and colour that can be moved around and remoulded to continuously reshape a picture as it grows in your mind’s eye. This one felt like it was growing into a fun starburst! So I do apologise for not going through all my steps this week and just focusing on the resulting image. Hope you all find as much fun in it as I have! Thank you to Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me for hosting this fascinating challenge.

Here are the three edits so far for December:

20 comments on “One Four Challenge: December Week 3

  1. Psychedelic Man! Very 1970s πŸ˜‰
    I had to say it!
    Another inspired version Sarah – I’m enjoying this image very much with all the different variations.
    I love the way you describe working on this – I can so relate to that feeling of going with the flow.
    Incredibly enjoyable image!! Wonderful creativity.

    • Thank you so much Robyn πŸ™‚ It’s great to actually talk through certain processing techniques but often art just evolves into something that can’t really be explained by technical data! It would be a bit like me explaining all the types of brush and colours of paint with other oils or thinners used for one of my old oil paintings. When you’re painting you just “do” stuff! Yes, definitely psychedelia this week and you win the prize for being the first person to say it πŸ˜‰ It’s the overload of Christmas lights everywhere, they’re blowing my mind, man!!! Oh, and I was listening to Floyd when creating this yesterday too. Dave Gilmour performing Wish You Were Here at Earls Court πŸ™‚ We’re Just Two Lost Souls Swimming In A Fish Bowl, Year After Year.

  2. Kaleidoscope!! Great patterns Sarah. By the way, although I don’t look at Twitter very often, a tweet from the RHS with a photo by a familiar name caught my eye. Congratulations, it’s a great picture, very deserving of the first place. πŸ™‚

    • Another photographer friend on Facebook instantly said Kaleidoscope πŸ™‚ Oh, I’m absolutely useless at twitter! Thanks so much, it’s absolutely made my year πŸ˜€ Wisley is my local bit of heaven. It was ever so funny on the announcement day as friends traveling to work discovered I was in The Times, Telegraph and Metro πŸ˜‰ Surreal but wonderful!

Leave a Reply

