Image

One Four Challenge: January Week 1

One Four Challenge - January Week 1

One Four Challenge: January Week 1

I decided to play with a photograph of one of my favourite flowers this month. It’s a dahlia that I pictured at RHS Wisley Gardens last September at their annual flower show. This week’s edit is soft and dreamy, maybe something that my 9yr old goddaughter would enjoy as a screen saver or wall poster. I will also show you the original image and a basic Lightroom edit, that will be the base image from which to work with over the course of the month. For January’s One Four Challenge, from Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me, I have decided to use a combination of processing software programs to create a totally new look each week.

Here are the processes that went into creating my first edit:

Nik Software
Analogue Efex Pro 2
Double exposure
Bokeh with blur
Basic Adjustments – reduce contrast, brighten, increase detail, decrease saturation
White Vignette
White Frame

Photoshop CC
Duplicate Background Layer
Clone Tool to remove unwanted detail
Blur Tool around edges
Screen Blending 100%
Duplicate of Background
Soft Light Blending 70%
Merge Visible

Greater Than Gatsby Photoshop Actions
Carving Tree Collection
Tickled Pink 30%
Bright Pink Burst – top right
Soft Pink Burst – bottom left
Innocence Collection
Create Depth Brush
Amelia Bedelia 70%

Adobe Lightroom
Reduce Noise
Adjust Hue, Saturation and Lightness

Here’s the gallery for your perusal πŸ™‚

35 comments on “One Four Challenge: January Week 1

  1. Oh perfection Sarah – such beauty and wonderful editing!
    Thanks for sharing all you’ve done.
    I’m going to take a peek at the GG actions πŸ˜€
    Happy New Year!!

  2. I love dahlias! So much texture to work with! What a beautiful first edit, the softness is gorgeous and the details still left intact are remarkable. Made my eyes go, ahhh.

    • Thanks Amy πŸ™‚ Sometimes it’s really fulfilling to put in a lot of work to create something individual. It’s like the process of painting to me, very cathartic! I just have to remember to write down all my processes along the way for the blog πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Julie πŸ™‚ I was just saying that I have to remember to note down all my processes as I go along! GTG has some lovely Lightroom presets as well as the Photoshop Actions πŸ™‚ The great thing is you can use them as a base and customise to suit the image and the look that you want to achieve. One Four is likely to be my only wordy post this year. I shall keep everything else simple!

  3. Gosh you are very knowledgeable about photo editing! I love the results but I’m afraid I just point and click then crop! I ought to be more adventurous as I love taking photos x well done x

    • Thank you! Be as adventurous or classic as you want to be πŸ™‚ I’m a fine artist and used to paint with oils before my dexterity deteriorated so I really see much of this type of processing as an extention to painting. I have a very curious nature so I’ve been drawn to experimenting with various products, teaching myself and developing new techniques. I should have been a cat πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

