Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity

Serenity

Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity

Serene Spirits

Time slows to a gentle
Pulsing beat of the heart
The world exists only in
This moment of serenity
Transfixed by their grace
Sylph-like they flitter
Ephemeral enchanters with
Dusted wings that glitter
In a flutter of delight
Glimpses of bright colour
Caught by coruscated light
Filtered through foliage
Dancing in the breeze
And here and there
Shadows cavort to a song
That only they can hear
Pulling at my soul to join
With them in celebration
Of the simple pleasures
Of a great star that
Warms and stirs the air
Of twisting currents
Rising above running waters
Of freedom to drift and soar
To follow the heart’s desire
To continue this fleeting
Life cycle and re-emerge
In pristine nascency
A renewal of selfhood
An ascension of spirit
Soaring skyward in a
Transitory ballet played out
Upon the winds of time

26 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ Put Wisley and butterflies together and for me that truly is serenity. I was also remembering sitting in the valley of the butterflies on Rhodes and how it made me feel to watch such an extraordinary display in the wild!

    • Thanks Ben πŸ™‚ I layered a series of images of the butterfly fluttering its wings as it sat on the trunk, then blended and merged them in Photoshop to get the sense of movement. There are other overlays of different foliage to add in the colours.

      • That would definitely be the other way to get a similar look Ben! Many photographers going to this event at Wisley are using ring flashes and I know it can get some great results, particularly with macro, but I love using natural light wherever possible πŸ™‚ I also worry that flash could startle some of the livelier butterflies. Although I’ve spotted a few photographers in the glasshouse with tripods, they’re not actually allowed during the event as there are so many visitors they just become a hazard! I think getting the effect with a diffused flash and long exposure on a tripod could have saved me some of the processing time but actually layering up the piece was very satisfying anyway πŸ™‚ Nice to know that the image got you thinking!

    • Thank you so much Poppy! You really do get me and my work πŸ™‚ I’ve been creating poetry and paintings/photos that go together for over 20yrs now. The nature of blogging really suits image and haiku pieces but I was moved to write more for the challenge and image πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

