Image

One Four Challenge: January Week 4

One Four Challenge - January Week 4

One Four Challenge: January Week 4

It’s the final week for January’s One Four Challenge from Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me. I’ve loved working with this Dahlia image this month and I’ve really enjoyed all your great feedback. I thought I would carry on working with the flower in a classic design theme inspired a bit by last week’s image and all the comments I received. My thoughts behind these designs were vintage fabric prints. This week I’ve kept the colour but made the overall look softer and subtle.

Photoshop CC
Select flower using polygonal lasso tool
Refine Edge
Fill Background Black
Select Black Pixels
Refine Edge
Layer via copy
Apply Radial Zoom Blur to both layers
Copy Background Layer and add Radial Swirl
Overlay Blending 20%
Merge and Flatten
Add an Invert Adjustment Layer
Difference Blending
Flatten Image

Greater Than Gatsby
Sentimental Colour Base
Sky Harbour 20%
Bright Pink Burst top left 90%
Soft Lavender Burst bottom right 75%
Eloise 30%
Paddington 20%
Moody Brush applied to flower centre
Bright Contrast 30%
Brooklyn Theatre Fire 60%
Merge and Flatten
Painterly Soft
Flatten Image

Open Paisley Texture Image
Apply Hue/Saturation Adjustment
Apply Brightness/Contrast Adjustment
Flatten Image
Add Texture Overlay to Flower
Create several copies of the flower
Transform size and opacity and place flowers diagonally across image
Merge with Multiply, Soft Light and Normal Blending
GTG Tuscan Vingnette 60%

Analogue Efex 2
Basic Adjustments: +detail -contrast +brightness
Light Leaks: Soft
Cool Film Type

Here’s my gallery of all the images for January and a poll if you would like to choose a favourite:

40 comments on “One Four Challenge: January Week 4

  1. I have been fascinated by your processes throughout this one Sarah, but then you started with a beauty, so captured me at the beginning. I’ve commented on the individual images – so hard to choose a favourite. But one does stand out for me πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Jude πŸ™‚ I wanted to reply sooner but my phone app has been playing up! You always need to start with a good base image to do complex processing. Dahlia’s a great flowers to work with! I’m most proud of Week 3 πŸ™‚ Now I have to work out what I’m doing next month!!

    • Thanks Steve πŸ™‚ Yes, I always say that post-processing is for enhancing or creating art with a good image! The number of people out there who still think that Photoshop is something that photographers use to fix a bad image really frustrates me. I do hope that these images of mine will inspire others to have a go at creating more art πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah! How do you do it, this week tops last week, I didn’t think it was possible. I love the color, the softness the ease of movement through the image. I would totally buy fabric with this pattern on it as well, I could look at it for days! I just love being a part of this challenge to watch talented folks like you work through an image. What a treat. Thank you!

    • Thanks Carrie! I found it really hard to create this last one after having done Week 3. I really enjoyed going down the design route! It’s a great challenge for really showing the versatility of photography and the range of styles that can work for just one image πŸ™‚ Now I have to decide what to do next!!!

  3. Nothing is going to top last weeks for me, this weeks was a little subtle in the details, but love the colour choice πŸ™‚

  4. Oh I just love this Sarah – and it’s sooo perfect for fabric design!!
    Gosh I’ve enjoyed your subject this month – probably because it’s something I’d go looking for.
    Having said all of that, week 1 is my absolute fave (today). Divine!!

  5. I enjoyed seeing what you did in the various stages, each one is a gem … but choosing a favorite, I’ll go with week 3 though I also really liked week 2 … not easy to choose here! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

