Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Express Yourself

Singing Robin

Weekly Photo Challenge: Express Yourself

The European Robin is one of the few birds in the UK to sing all year round. This is one of the many reasons why I am especially fond of them. In the midst of winter their song takes on a brighter, more urgent tone. I’ve always thought of this as them singing for Spring! In many ways they are doing just that. While reaffirming their territories they are also singing to attract a mate. Robins are such expressive little birds and this is my favourite time of year to watch and listen to them. I’ve adapted a traditional nursery rhyme that some of you may know, Sing a Song of Sixpence, to express my joy at hearing the robin sing πŸ™‚

Sing A Song Of Springtime

Sing a song of Springtime
From your perch on high
Four and twenty robins
Are calling to the sky

And when the sky has brightened
The other birds will sing
And there will be a chorus
That dawn will surely bring

41 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Express Yourself

  1. I love it that a robin inspired you to write these lyrics, and it’s a terrific song to behold, especially for those of us who do not have the grace of the European Robin’s presence. In my country, the American Robin continues to dazzle me, too, so I really like this post, Sarah. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Jet πŸ™‚ The robin is iconic here in the UK. Often known as the gardener’s friend. Although I’ve never been to states and seen the American robin I know that it’s a member of the thrush family so it undoubtedly has a pretty song too!

  2. Oh you’ve certainly captured one of my favourite birds. We had a family of robins nesting in one of our plant pots last year. In fact I think I blogged about it. I also have a cute Little wren in my garden. I don’t hear her sing but she forages under the shrubs with her little tail pointing to the sky so prim – I love to see her.
    Roll on Spring!

    • Oh I’m going to have to find that post!! I’ve loved robins since I was very young and we had a cheeky one who used to come into the house and sit in the kitchen begging for crumbs πŸ™‚ I then proposed the name Robin for my baby brother and it stuck! I always see and usually photograph at least one robin every time I visit Wisley Gardens. Wrens however are one of my nemesis birds! Always gone by the time I press the shutter. They can really make a racket with their chatter! Wish we had them in our gardens.

  3. So the robin’s self-expression fueled your musical/poetic self-expression πŸ™‚ Where I live in the US, the robins leave for the winter but they are usually the first birds to return, sometimes still to snow on the ground. It’s a joyful event when I first see a flock of robins in late winter/early spring.

    • Our robins are with us year round and they’re mostly solitary, territorial birds. It’s only in the breeding season that you’re likely to see several together! The American robin is quite intriguing as it’s come to be a traditional herald of spring itself even though they are completely different bird species with different behaviour. The US robin is a member of the thrush family, another of my favourites, and was named after the European robin purely for its colouring. I love how tradition crosses continents with the movement of people, finding new symbology and creating new stories and folklore.

Leave a Reply

