Image

One Four Challenge: February Week 1

One Four Challenge: February Week 1

One Four Challenge: February Week 1

It’s time for February’s One Four Challenge, hosted by Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me. A new month, an old image with a brand new look. The original photographs were taken in early 2007 on a Fuji Bridge camera. I think it was a 5mp camera, which really goes to show how fast technology is moving! I took a lot of images in the camera’s own B&W mode at that time as it had been what I was most used to in film photography. The portraits were originally taken as part of a photomontage project for the National Portrait Gallery’s annual photographic competition. I haven’t had any of my images included in the exhibition but I really enjoy the process of creating images for the competition, it’s a great motivator 🙂 I’ll include my 2007 entry within my gallery and, as ever, I would love your feedback and criticism on my processes!

Photoshop CC
Clean up base image and remove shadows
Invert with Linear Light Blending
Merge Down
Invert with Screen Blending
Merge Down
Invert with Difference Blending 50%
Merge Down
Soft Edge Glow Action 50%
Soft Posterise
Save Snapshot
Rippled Oil Texture 40%
Merge Visible
Add Snapshot with Lighten Blending
Public Domain Texture Overlay
Difference Blending
Masking Layer – use soft, low opacity brush to remove texture
2nd Texture Overlay
Overlay Blending 60%
Use soft white brush to paint over dark edges on portrait
Flatten Image
Add White Canvas Border

42 comments on “One Four Challenge: February Week 1

  1. Ooh I like your approach this month and the finished result is ghostly and very interesting and makes you want to look again. Nice job!
    Funny, there are a few revisiting older images this time round. Fun 😃

    • Isn’t it funny when people manage to come up with similar ideas completely independently! My original was called Fade Out and based around aspects of B&W film negatives, exposure and pencil drawings. It was also about how I felt I was being seen and unseen at the time. I’m glad you want to look again Robyn cos that face will be haunting you for the rest of Feb 😉

  2. When I first saw this I thought it was a painting! Very ghostly and ethereal. Im intrigued by your use of inversion on the layers at the beginning, what effect does that achieve in this instance?

    • Thank you 🙂 My aim was always to create images that could almost be drawings or paintings from the series of portraits that I made. My fibromyalgia had recently got to the stage where I couldn’t draw or paint anymore in the traditional manor but being the stubborn person I am, I looked to photography and some of the editing software at the time to see how else I could I paint 🙂 It’s the blending options in the invert adjustment layer that are important at this point! I messed around with different options for a while looking for something that would give me a softly solarised effect and create some interesting tonality in the details.

  3. Wow. That is wonderful processing at work. I have never done so many steps myself. Thank you for the info. Might just have to take a look at it further. You are so generous to share Sarah, MM 💚

    • Thank you so much John! I’ve had well over 50 layers on the go in some of my complex montages 😉 Sometimes I can almost hear the computer screaming at me! There’s a lot of scope for getting really interesting effects using the blending options on photo adjustment layers in Photoshop CC and CS6 🙂

Leave a Reply

