Image

One Four Challenge: February Week 4

One Four Challenge: February Week 4

One Four Challenge: February Week 4

Here’s my last edit for February’s One Four Challenge, hosted by Robyn Gosby at Captivate Me. I’m not going to give you a run down of the processes this week as it would be just a bit too much! I’ve used a combination of all the processes used in my first three edits and added the butterflies and flowers using the polygonal lasso tool in PS. My inspiration this week was drawn from a pen and ink design I created many years ago, using a self-portrait to create a playing card Queen of Hearts. My design had been based up a pen and ink drawing that my father had created, during his own college days, of a fairytale style playing card! I hope you’ve all enjoyed my tributes to past works and different mediums as much as I have. I’m still deciding on my image for March but it has been suggested to me that I tackle a landscape. What do you think?

If you would like to pick a favourite (it’s not obligatory!) please use this poll and/or leave me some feedback and suggestions for future One Four Challenges in the comments πŸ™‚

54 comments on “One Four Challenge: February Week 4

    • Thanks so much Karen!! I have to say I put a lot of time, heart and soul into this edit πŸ™‚ It’s a great exercise for me to stretch my imagination and use all my creative skills for this challenge and I really do enjoy sharing my art πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much πŸ™‚ Yes it was a lot of work but it really does help to practice ideas and experiment! Week 3 was actually quite exciting to pull together using several different programmes πŸ™‚ I had the ideas imprinted on my mind and I’ve loved the challenge of bringing them to life!

  1. Gosh, golly, gosh!! You have put SO much work into this challenge and it shows. Hard to choose a favourite as I like them all. Weeks 2 and 3 are my favourites. I adore what you have done this week, but feel that I want some space around your head(s). Fantastic idea though – the Queen of Butterflies πŸ˜€

  2. I didnt originally see the Queen of Hearts until I read it in a comment and then I was like YES!! This is beautiful, really pretty and creative πŸ™‚

  3. You have most definitely saved the best for last…I loved your week 3 edit, but this tops it by some margin! What a fabulously creative edit! You have clearly put a lot of time and passion into this, and it shows! A*** ! πŸ™‚

  4. Finally made it πŸ™‚
    I absolutely love what you did here – Simply inspired and so creative!
    Don’t you love it how our older designs can keep inspiring us? I do πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much Robyn πŸ™‚ When I first started my blog as a 365 challenge it had me revisiting so much of what I had done and learnt at college. I’ve created a few montages that were based upon old oil paintings of mine and it can be really interesting to look back on older works and discovering things about yourself and the image that you hadn’t realised at the time. We can learn from ourselves at much as from others!

      • Thats exactly what I did too Sarah, after my studies πŸ˜ƒ It was good to have a project after such intense ‘doing’… and missing my study buddies.
        I agree… Looking back at our work is always beneficial.

      • Yes, it’s often strange not to be working alongside a bunch of other artists with so many ideas being thrown around and discussed! Even working in the gallery I still had that. I miss it a lot and have found being part of the WordPress community has really alleviated some of the artistic isolation that I was feeling. I still love going out on my own to work too, particularly if I’m photographing nature and wildlife, I just love the peacefulness of it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

