Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule Of Thirds

Big Ben

Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule Of Thirds (Galleries From London)

Big Ben – portrait grid

London Lion – landscape grid

River Thames, looking west – Fibonacci spiral or golden ratio

46 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule Of Thirds

    • Thanks Ardys πŸ™‚ It’s something I think most photographers and artists end up doing subconsciously, I know that I do! Thought it would be good to actually take a few new photos for the challenge. I only did a slight bit of cropping/straightening to tidy up the images. That fibonacci spiral fits the image whichever way you turn it πŸ™‚ I think it’s a good thing to have in your minds I when you’re photographing a complex scene.

    • I use spot focus for most wildlife photography. If my subject is still then I aquire the focus then shift the camera to compose the image before exposure. Birds in flight or animals moving are much more difficult! In those situations I usually do exactly the same as you.

  1. Like it Sarah, reminds me that I should look to try and do these challenges after my exams are over. On the lion statue in the second image, personally I would have concentrated the lion on the intersection as opposed to putting it right into the last third. Is my interpretation of the “rule” off kilter? I do of course appreciate that all rules are meant to be broken. Have a good weekend Sarah πŸ€

    • Thanks John πŸ™‚ The rule is actually quite open to interpretation. The usual would be to have the subject to the right as I did with Big Ben. My lion would have worked better if it had been facing to the left! Unfortunately with the surroundings I couldn’t get the shot any other way that would leave the space I wanted with just the cloud line and statue defining the rule. I expect that like so many artists you already subconsciously apply the rule to much of your work!

  2. I like the Fibonacci spiral – hadn’t heard of that for photography until recently. As for your placement in the other two, I thought the RoT suggests you place the subject on the intersections not just off-centre, so I would have moved the lion slightly to the left and Big Ben to the right. Oh, well, all fab photos and as you say, often it is simply instinct.

    • I think it’s a rule that should be open to an individuals interpretation. This is the natural way that I tend to frame a subject if I’m leaving space around it. I learnt about the Golden Ratio or Fibonacci at school I think and it just becomes something that you subconsciously look for with a subject. I don’t think there should be any fixed rules in art! Guidance about the way the human brain processes an image can be really useful but creativity is instinctive πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting Jude!

      • Ha ha! As it’s now technically Saturday morning, I can say it’s my Hen Party today πŸ˜€ I’ve been up late editing! All is falling into place nicely only I have to send my birth certificate back to Australia to get a Hague Apostille stamp or whatever on it. Grrrr, all this endless administration! It’s some sort of legalisation thing on an already legal document!?! But it’s all worth it. In 13 weeks time I will be a married woman πŸ˜€

      • Oh, good luck with that (the birth certificate I mean) my granddaughter had endless trouble getting her Australian passport despite the fact that she has had two previously (!!) because her birth certificate is ‘ceremonial’ and not valid. Why on earth offer one of these if they are not valid? Aussies are more bureaucratic than I had thought.

        Have a great evening out – I’m sure you will πŸ™‚

      • Totally awesome weekend Jude πŸ™‚ My mum hosted a dozen of us and a few kids for an afternoon of tea, cakes, arts, crafts and manicures and about 15 of us went for a Lebanese meal last night. Ate soooo much! This morning Simon and I went to Wisley with my two best friends and my parents to do a joint 40th birthday celebration πŸ˜€ I’m now absolutely exhausted but in a good way! That’s utterly ridiculous about your granddaughter. The place that does the apostille stamp say they process them within a few days so it should be fine as long as I have everything sent recorded. My original birth certificate is really plain and boring!! The copies look much nicer πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Lisa πŸ™‚ Most artistic rules are really teaching guides and it’s an instinctive thing very much based upon how our minds process visual information. There’s lots of fascinating science behind it yet artists have often managed to fulfil these rules centuries before they were really understood! Next time you look at a painting or photo see if you can trace the journey your eyes take across the image πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

