Image

One Four Challenge: March Week 1

One Four Challenge: March Week 1

One Four Challenge: March Week 1

First of all I want to say a big THANK YOU to all my followers and fellow bloggers who are participating in Robyn Gosby’s One Four Challenge which she hosts on her lovely blog, Captivate Me. You’ve all been fantastic in your support and comments, inspiring me to push myself creatively with a range of different subjects! Many of you expressed an interest in seeing how I would tackle a landscape image so here it is, wonderful Dartmoor in Devon.

The rocks you see are called Combestone Tor and are the most accessible of all the tors. The original photograph was taken just off the car park to encompass all the rocks that make up this beautiful feature. I started in Lightroom, dropping exposure, highlights and whites and lifting shadows. I increased clarity and vibrance as well as making adjustments within Hue/Saturation to my liking. I then cropped the image at a 10×4 panoramic ratio. The results of this edit will be the base for all my edits this month and I will include it in my gallery.

Photoshop CC
HDR Toning modified default
Cloning and Blur Tools to smooth sky and remove unwanted foreground detail

Lightroom
GTG Basic Edit
Slightly Reduce Blue and Cyan Saturation
Increase Green and Yellow Saturation
Adjustment Brush to Reduce Noise and Clarity to sky
Adjustment Brush to Increase Clarity to the rocks

46 comments on “One Four Challenge: March Week 1

  1. I like the warm day feel of the grass and rock colors in particular. Looking forward to see where you move with this image…it is always a beautiful ride.

  2. I am going to enjoy where you take us with this one Sarah. Expect the unexpected!

    IMO I like the grass in the final edit, but prefer the sky in the basic edit. Although this could just be my screen of course, hard to judge colours properly on a laptop.

    • I could try a mix of the two images for the April review πŸ™‚ The sky came out extremely vibrant after the HDR toning which is why I brought it back into Lightroom to tone it back down. I do hope everyone will enjoy the journey on the moors πŸ™‚ I feel a bit like this is creating a painting from a live sketch so all my edits will be very much from my imagination and childhood memories of walking on the moors. Thanks Jude πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Ben πŸ™‚ I often find that creating a panorama from a wide angle full frame is much more effective and natural compared to a stitched, multiple image panorama. I knew this one needed work but hadn’t resolved what to do with it! The set has been sitting in LR waiting for me to make my mind up for almost a year so it felt perfect for a One Four Challenge πŸ™‚

  3. Such a beautiful place Sarah – your edit makes it seem quite lively to me, even though it is still. So looking forward to seeing where you take this.
    I am still to visit your posts from the last 2 weeks – I loved them too!!
    You are inspiring people – You go girl πŸ˜€

  4. Really great image Sarah. The panoramic crop is excellent, this format places the amazing rocks in just the right place. Looking forward to seeing where this image goes, I’m sure you’ve got some great ideas for us! πŸ™‚

  5. Stunning scape,fabulous rock architecture and cloud formations!You have perfectly edited it!
    Thanks kindly Sarah for coming by and for the likes,I do appreciate it πŸ™‚ Doda xxx

    • Thanks Doda πŸ™‚ I hope you will enjoy all my edits of the tor this month! I’m ever so intrigued by your blog. Have you studied Ancient Greek and Mythology? My partner, Simon, and I are getting married on Kos in Greece at the end of May πŸ™‚ It’s become a second home for us. I love the islands! Community, culture, food, nature and history; it’s got it all πŸ™‚

      • Oh,how nice to hear you are getting married on Kos island.It’s a lovely island with a very long and glorious history and culture behind.I am Greek,I live in Athens,and yes,I have studied Ancient Greek and Mythology,it’s compulsory in our Educational System,we have no choice.Thanks kindly for responding,I wish you and Simon every Happiness and all the Best of Best πŸ™‚ ~(Λ˜β–ΎΛ˜~) ~ xxx

      • I always had a passion for ancient history! We always stay in Kefalos as it’s less touristy and the beaches of Kamari and sheltered. We’d live there if we could! The people are lovely πŸ™‚ Simon’s been learning Greek and I can say a few phrases now but need to learn your alphabet properly. We always go over to the volcano on Nysiros! Last year we also went to Rhodes as Simon spent many childhood holidays there at Lindos, before it became such a tourist attraction! It also gave me the opportunity to go to the Valley of the Butterflies. Wow!! Utterly amazing experience πŸ™‚ I’ve never been to the mainland though, I love the island life. How are things in Athens with the new government in place? I’m glad that you have a government really fighting for your rights against the might of the EU!

Leave a Reply

