One Four Challenge: March Week 2

One Four Challenge: March Week 2

One Four Challenge: March Week 2

For the second week of March’s One Four Challenge, hosted by Robin Gosby at Captivate Me, I wanted to show the moors and tor in a darker mood. Dartmoor has been the setting for countless novels and poems. The best known of these is undoubtedly The Hound of The Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In the dark of night, with the mist rolling in across the moors, I can’t help but think of the savage dog-like beast stood upon the tor, howling into the winds. A little bonus for you is this extra edit with an even moodier look and the hound himself on the rocks!

The Hound Of The Baskervilles

Here are the steps I took to get my Week 2 edit and a gallery of all the edits so far:

Photoshop CC and GTG
Savoy Mark II Colour Base
Knuffle Bunny 15%
Polar Express 50%
Cooling Greens Brush
Fog Brush (Across Tor) 50%
Moody Brush (Across Tor)
Rich Contrast 25%
Silky Rich Bokeh
Create Depth Brush
Dark Paradise 50%
RETRO FILMS
Record Store 15%
Annie Hall 25%
Flatten Image
Painterly Punchy 100%
Flatten Image
Black and White Adjustment Layer with Infrared Style
Painterly Subtle 100%
That Witch is Wicked 15%
Classic Contrast
Clean Bokeh
Create Depth Brush

38 comments on “One Four Challenge: March Week 2

  1. These are so wonderful Sarah and yes I think of Conan Doyle when I think of the moors.. They were always the place of haunting in the stories.
    The BW is stunning with that deep sky and the addition of the moon and the hound is awesome!
    Really effective story telling with these images!!

    • Thanks Robyn πŸ™‚ I ummed and erred about actually adding the hound as that’s the story the B&W tells to me but although I wanted to hint at it, I also didn’t want to force people to see that with the image. I really love the story telling in Cybele’s images πŸ™‚ I read all the tales too! She has a very deft way at including an aspect of the story within an edit without forcing it upon the viewer.

  2. Love the drama and mood of your B&W edits. Fantastic result. Although the additions of the hound and moon are tricky, I like the one without best… great work Sarah! …. as usual! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I only really did the hound edit for a bit of fun. I think if I was going to actually illustrate the hound properly I would take a twilight image of the tors and make a drawing of the hound looking much more monstrous. I too prefer the scene without the additions!

      • Yes Im deeply envious of your landscape and lovely lighting, hopefully one day I will actually get to travel half way round the world to visit!

      • Believe me, everyone here is equally envious of the landscape of NZ!! I have family there and really want to visit. I chat with my cousin and aunt a lot! I was actually born in Aus while my dad was there working and had my first birthday at Lake Rotorua πŸ˜€ Every part of the world has something different and enticing in landscape, wildlife and culture! I need a big commission or a lottery win then I can travel to my hearts content πŸ™‚ The British Isles are truly stunning and I’ve been blessed to have been brought up in the countryside but still close to London. I love to get out to the wilder parts of the UK though! We go to Devon and Shropshire a lot to see family and Scotland is a dream πŸ™‚ We have a family friend on Shetland who I long to go and stay with!

      • I will offer you deal, free accomodation on my sofa next time you are over for the same when I finally visit the UK πŸ™‚

      • You’d be welcome! It’s the cost of flights etc that has stopped me travelling south. I have plenty of places to stay in NZ and Aus with so many family members there. I’d want to spend at least a few months travelling to see all my family and exploring the countryside. It’s the wildlife that I would really love to see and photograph πŸ™‚

      • Same for me travelling north plus the exchange rate is not in my favour so even MORE expensive but one day when I win Lotto!

    • Thanks so much πŸ™‚ I often post them quite late on the Monday evening (UK time) so that could explain how you missed it! I still haven’t had the chance to look through everyone’s posts this week. The moors are, indeed, a powerful place!

Leave a Reply

