Black And White Challenge: Day 1 – Free Spirit

Doves

Black And White Challenge: Day 1 – Free Spirit

Amy from The World Is A Book invited me to join the five-day Black & White Challenge. Amy is one of my most ardent supporters and has provided me with so much encouragement during my blogging history! Taking on this challenge is my way of thanking her for all her input, links, comments and shares. She has a lovely blog of her own filled with images and stories of nature, travel, gardens and walks. Please do visit her if you have not already; you’ll be drawn in by her relaxed writing style and the wide range of photographic styles and subjects!

I don’t often process my bird images into monochrome so I’ve been out looking for suitable subjects to share with you. I spotted these doves in the branches overhanging the lake at Claremont Gardens a few days ago, and the light was just perfect for a monochrome conversion! I’m not challenging anyone else today, rather I would ask you, my readers, if you would like to take part?

I wasn’t planning on starting with this image, but after the very sad news today of the passing of Sir Terry Pratchett, I decided that I would like to make this my photographic tribute, in remembrance of one of the greatest writers of our time, perhaps of all times! Not only has he written so many inspirational books, including The Discworld novels, but in his last years he has campaigned relentlessly for dementia patients and those with terminal illness who wish for the right to choose when they die. The documentaries he made on this subject were both emotive and enlightening. The rare form of Alzheimer’s that he was diagnosed with must have been incredibly frustrating for someone of such a keen mind and quick humour. May his spirit fly free and his literary legacy inspire generations of writers to come.

20 comments on “Black And White Challenge: Day 1 – Free Spirit

  1. A very moving and beautiful tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett.
    Thank you for bringing beauty of nature to us through you posts, Sarah. I sincerely thank you for your kind words from the bottom of my heart; truly value our blogging friendship.

    • Oh bless you Raewyn! I think it’s just the cruellest illness. So many people are affected by dementia these days and Sir Terry was so forthright and passionate in campaigning for research, care and rights. Best wishes to you and your family x

Leave a Reply

