Image

Weekly Photo and Travel Theme Challenges: Capturing The Ephemeral Outdoors

Dunnock

Weekly Photo and Travel Theme Challenges: Capturing The Ephemeral Outdoors (9 Galleries of Garden Birds)

I love watching the birds! Fleeting glimpses of my feathered friends is one of the ephemeral delights of being outdoors, exploring nature. Photographing our wild birds is always a challenge but it’s definitely one of my favourite activities. RHS Wisley Gardens is home to a diverse range of bird life and for this weeks’ challenges I have galleries of all the birds spotted in just one afternoon at the gardens. Some of the encounters were very brief indeed!

The most fleeting encounter was with Britain’s smallest bird, the goldcrest. Shy and very fast moving this little beauty was startled from his perch before I could get a good look at his face!

The nuthatches were equally hard to photograph as they were staying so high up in this old tree, feeding on insects in the bark.

The jay was showing off but still very wary of me!

The male blackbirds are all staking out territory and singing their hearts out to attract a mate. The females, themselves are busily feeding in the flower beds amongst the shrubs and trees.

I had the most wonderful encounter with this blue tit that was pecking into the base of the camellia flowers to get at the sugary nectar!

My friendly robins were the most accommodating of all the birds! At this time of year you will get the unusual sight of several robins feeding together, as they pair up for the mating season. One robin was particularly delightful to watch as he took a bath in one of the shallow pools, in the Wildwoods, before shaking himself dry again in the bushes!

I went hunting for thrushes on the lawns around the lake and also found the redwings and a delightful dunnock!

I always stop at the Glasshouse Cafe to have a cup of tea and feed the birds. I had some lovely close encounters with the great tits, dunnocks and the chaffinch. I did catch a glimpse of the woodpecker at the top of the tall trees but couldn’t get a clear shot of him. The ducks, crows and magpies were around too.

One of my favourite garden birds is the long-tailed tit and, boy, is it fast! I have always struggled to photograph the delightful little bird but managed to get a few images of them in the trees, gathering bits of web to build their nests. No if I can only find one of their nests……

39 comments on “Weekly Photo and Travel Theme Challenges: Capturing The Ephemeral Outdoors

    • My pleasure and thank you Amy πŸ™‚ I had such fun watching them all! I will eventually get some clear photos of that little goldcrest. They’re so tiny that people just don’t spot them at all! I find it really helps to get to know the different bird songs. Always gives me a good idea of what birds are in which area of the gardens πŸ™‚

      • I’d love to watch these beautiful birds in one place. They are tiny, so glad you captured them with your camera. Sounds like you had an enjoyable time. πŸ™‚

  1. Wow! Absolutely wow Sarah and what an excellent post for this challenge hon. The birds you photographed are absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€ β™₯

    • Ha ha! Bless you Julie, what a lovely comment πŸ™‚ Yes, with many of the birds the females just get on with their thing and wait for the males to finish posturing and actually get a good nest built πŸ˜‰ Birds have fascinated me my whole life! My mum recently found a bird guide booklet that I had illustrated and written myself when I was about 12. It was pretty good if I do say so myself πŸ™‚

    • You see how similarly obsessed I am now πŸ˜‰ We are very lucky yes, but I’d still give anything to be watching those osprey! It’s all about what you’re used to having around you. I try not to overlook the beauty of birds that I’m very used to seeing but much of the world has not!

  2. Beautiful photos Sarah, particularly love the first one with the shallow depth of field but that lovely pinkish hue in the background really pops the photo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

