Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

Long-tailed TitWeekly Photo Challenge: Motion

I think most of my readers know that I love all things winged! My entry for last week’s challenge, Early Bird, would have fit equally well this week. Sticking with feathered wings this week, I’m reducing the size of the birds! My featured image is a long-tailed tit that was flitting about, high in the trees above where Sue (WordsVisual) and I were sitting outside The Glasshouse Cafe at RHS Wisley Gardens. It was pure luck that I caught this image of him taking off from one of the branches and deserving of short accompanying poem!

Do, also, visit Brenda (HeavenHappens) who has a similar love of garden birds to me. This week she has shared some wonderful photos of a dear little long-tailed tit who visits her daily and perches on the door-handle, watching what she’s up to through the glass! Priceless πŸ™‚

My gallery below is a bit of fun from Stover Country Park in Devon. My main aim that day was to capture more natural images of the birds in the trees and shrubs around this bird feeder, which attracts so many of the birds to this particular spot. I couldn’t resist putting the camera on the tripod and capturing a series of images of these birds flying onto and off the feeder! The chaffinches are always the best for this as they will almost hover around the feeder before alighting.

15 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

    • You’ll be best with a feeder that you can hang lots of different seed containers and fat balls from πŸ™‚ Having a bird bath is good too, always fun to watch them having a bath and it’s drinking water for them too! It can take a little while for all the birds to learn that you’ve got food out for them but worth the wait when you start to get regular visitors πŸ˜€ Thanks Raewyn!

    • Thanks Julie πŸ™‚ These were all shot on my Sigma 50-500mm. It’s a fabulous lens and very good value for this kind of telephoto. There’s no way I could have captured such details with less! It’s a bulky lens so I often use mono or tripod.

    • Thanks Mark πŸ™‚ It’s such a joy! If you have any reasonably mature trees in your garden it’s great to set up the feeders amongst them. I love getting the wing motions but I mostly try to get natural looking shots of the birds in the trees as they approach the feeders πŸ™‚ Have fun with it!

  1. Delightful series of motion, Sarah! Love you bird captures, butterfly, flowers,…. are all so beautiful via your lens. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the mention Sarah. Your photos are beautiful, gloriously naturalistic. I especially love the woodpecker.
    I was thrilled with your news re the wedding in Greece-wonderful and so romantic.
    Sarah I have been floored by a tragedy this weekend and it is so hard to relate. I posted that beautiful photo of Bailey my daughters Springer Spaniel on Saturday but he was hit by a car and killed instantly on Sunday. My daughter is grief stricken and I am devastated for her and her beautiful puppy. I have edited Bailey out of my post as it makes me so sad to see him. You can delete this comment but I just had to explain why the photo is gone from my post.

    • Oh Brenda! I’m lost for words!! My deepest sympathies to you all. Having lost two beautiful beloved cats in the same way I can completely understand your grief. I really am so very sorry to hear this. My thoughts are with you and and your daughter x

Leave a Reply

