Image

Taking Flight – Butterflies Of Kos

Painted Lady

Taking Flight – Butterflies Of Kos

It’s been a busy few weeks gearing up for our holiday and wedding on Kos, one of the Dodecanese Greek Islands in the Aegean Sea. Hence why I’ve been so quiet lately! I’ll be rather occupied for the next three weeks but don’t worry, I will be back to regular posts soon. Before we leave, I wanted to share with you a collection of the beautiful butterflies I saw on our last trip to Kos. Greece is home to many species of butterflies, some native and others migratory. Many are seasonal, so this selection is just a taste of the butterflies that can be seen throughout the year in Greece. I hope to see more while we’re out there for the wedding!

Hairstreaks

Swallowtails

Whites and Browns

Skippers and Coppers

Painted Lady and Southern Comma

Lifecycle

26 comments on “Taking Flight – Butterflies Of Kos

  1. What a lovely selection, Sarah! Hope you add to your photographic collection whilst you are on Kos… Happy hols, have a great wedding!

  2. I’d love to see a swallowtail they are so pretty. Have a lovely holiday, a fab ‘day’ with family and friends and all that love around you, lots of romance, fun, laughter and beauty. It’s not everyone who has a Greek Wedding πŸ˜€

  3. Wow! What an amazing collection ..oh I’m excited. The wedding! It will be beautiful .. Have the most gorgeous day lovely girl you deserve it! I can’t wait to see some pics ..please! πŸ˜ƒ

  4. I just commented on your fox photo and now I find these butterfliesβ€”elusive subjects as well ! I’m surprised how you “captured” so many . . . and photographically, how beautifully composed!

    • Thanks Marso πŸ™‚ I have to say they’re an obsession of mine! The butterflies in Greece are more numerous than here. The islands are on the migratory route for some butterflies like the Tortoiseshell and warm sunny summers are perfect for them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

