Image

One Four Challenge: July Week 1

One Four Challenge: July Week 1

One Four Challenge: July Week 1

I couldn’t resist this scene captured at Dapdune Wharf in Guildford at the weekend. It seemed an ideal composition for Robin Gosby’s One Four Challenge! As you’ll see in the original image, the sun had dropped and this rundown area beyond the allotments was actually quite dark. It sparked my imagination though. There’s something magical about the setting. So much greenery, almost as if the landscape is reclaiming this lost and lonely spot for its own. I could imagine that this old and unused shed would seem quite sad and forlorn in the midst of winter but Summer has brought it light and warmth. This old shed is probably an important part of the local habitat now. Abandoned by man it can provide shelter for many small mammals and insects. This would be the perfect place for butterflies to overwinter, for hedgehogs to create a home underneath, for birds to build a warm and secure nest.

For my first edit I wanted to bring the warmth of the summer sun back to this scene. First I did an edit in Lightroom using the Greater Than Gatsby Clean Edit Base which I customised to my own liking before opening it in Nik Colour Efex Pro. I applied and customised Tonal Contrast, Detail Extractor, Polarisation, Skylight Filter, Pro Contrast, Reflector Efex, Vignette Filter and Glamour Glow. Now it feels like how I imagined it πŸ™‚

49 comments on “One Four Challenge: July Week 1

      • It’s a tough time over there at the moment for sure! There’s so much uncertainty. People we know on Kos are sticking together and supporting each other. The islands are very self sufficient when it comes to food, water and power. For industry and business it’s a pivotal moment though. Public services have been cut back and pharmacies are struggling to get supplies. Many people on Kos are having to travel to Rhodes for hospital treatment. If Simon could take more time from work we’d be heading back out to stand by our friends!

      • It is a difficult time… can’t really imagine what they are going through. Seems so primitive for our time doesn’t it?
        So happy your friends have you for friends. They are going to need lots of help to see this through.

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ Nik Software is just wonderful! Really versatile and easy to learn. It takes time to explore the whole application and get to find your favourites but as a fine art photographer I find it one of my essential tools πŸ™‚

  1. This looks like it is straight out of a road less traveled in my town, I love the idea that the wilds of the forest reclaim their space if you don’t keep watch of your things πŸ™‚ It is as it should be. I am also happy to see that your original image looks similar to many of mine with this kind of light and scene, I always get that blue tone instead of the warm yellows I actually see. Beautiful edit, looks like a wonderful sunlit day in a beautiful place. Looking forward to your progression with this image, I always learn a lot from your edits!

  2. Love this capture Sarah, they kind of subject that gets me salivating and enthralled. Great treatment too, I love it. And of course congratulations on your marriage in Greece, hope all was a fairytale and in contrast to Greek’s current woes. Wishing you happiness always Sarah, John / MM πŸ€

Leave a Reply

