One Four Challenge: July Week 4

One Four Challenge: July Week 4 2

One Four Challenge: July Week 4

For the final week of July’s One Four Challenge, from Robyn Gosby, I’ve taken inspiration from some of the great masters of landscape painting. I wanted to add to the romanticism of the scene with a vibrant oil-painted effect and some colourful wildlife. In Lightroom I used an onOne Movie Look preset, Arkham, on my Week 1 edit. I customised this to get the colour balance and tonal quality that I wanted. Then I moved on to Photoshop CC to create my montage and add textured effects.

From two other photos taken at Dapdune Wharf, I used the Lasso Tool to select and copy the foxes, and then placed them onto the background image. I merged the two layers with the foxes into one and adjusted Hue/Saturation to match the tonal qualities in the background. I then applied a Grad ND adjustment layer to the foxes to match the shadows in the background. I duplicated the background layer and aligned this above the Grad ND layer. I added a White Masking Layer to the background copy and using a Soft Black Brush gradually removed areas of foliage to reveal the foxes. Finally I applied a Greater than Gatsby Golden Sunset Burst to the top right corner to match the natural light on the foxes.

To create the oil painting effect I created three copies of my new montage. To the first I applied Conte Crayon with Canvas Texture in B&W. To the second I applied Rough Pastels with Canvas Texture and Craquelure filters. To the third I added a Fractured Shell Texture which I blended using Multiply and adjusted the opacity to suit. I then copied and pasted both other edits over this new background and blended using Soft Light for the B&W and Multiply for the second edit. It was a lot of work but so much fun!

If you have a favourite please let me know using this poll or in your comments πŸ™‚

31 comments on “One Four Challenge: July Week 4

    • Thank you so much! I saw the fox just round the corner from the sheds and thought they’d be a great addition to the scene. It’s what painting’s all about, making sketches and then composing a scene with the elements that fit your vision πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Julie πŸ™‚ You can love them both! It’s actually the same fox from two photos but I felt it would look better with two. I hope I can see her again at Dapdune! Just have to be there late in the day and keep very, very quiet.

  1. Oh this is gorgeous Sarah! Love the foxes too and those beautiful deep shadows and rich colours. Wonderful. I thought I’d vote week 3, but week 4 has won me over πŸ˜ƒ Lovely work and play.

  2. I liked one, I loved three, but this is astonishing! So, so beautifully created and yet it looks so natural. One for framing. Well done Sarah!

  3. Sarah, up until week three I could not decide which version I preferred. And then you blew them all out of the water with this final version! Thelighting, the texture, and the foxes all combine to make this a very impressive image! And thanks for the explanation. I just might be able to duplcate this one day! πŸ™‚ No, not really!

    • Never say never Emilio!! Thank you so much πŸ™‚ It does take a lot of time and practice to get used to working with multiple layers and adjustments but it’s great fun and very satisfying too. I’ve been trying to perfect my techniques for years now and I’ll always be discovering new things and hopefully improving as I learn!

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I really did enjoy visualising the scene in autumn and then finding the right processes to try to realise that within the photo! I will definitely be back there in autumn to capture the actual seasonal changes. It will be interesting to see how they compare.

Leave a Reply

