24 comments on “Blue Monday: The Eyes Have It!

    • Hi Julie, I did a bit of research on New Zealand butterflies before I replied! You do have fewer species than we do which really surprised me. You do have antipodean versions of our Red Admiral and Painted Lady! Sorry you don’t have a Peacock as they are so very pretty. I really liked the patterns on the Forest Ringlet! We only have one ringlet so I was fascinated to see that NZ has a number of species. What butterflies do you get in the gardens?

      • Gosh aren’t you good doing that research πŸ™‚ We don’t have many butterflies – well not that I have seen. We have the usual glorious Monarch and the not so lovely white butterfly which loves my vege garden πŸ™‚ And there are moths …

      • Oh I love researching the things that really interest me πŸ™‚ We don’t get monarch butterflies here unless there’s a rare stray visitor! I dream of seeing the migration and their over-wintering sites in the Americas. We do have thousands of moth species too πŸ™‚ I’m not nearly as good at moth spotting as with the butterflies! Most people don’t realise we have lots of day-flying moths that are often quite brightly coloured. This link might interest you http://ukmoths.org.uk/thumbnails/

        We should really apologise for those pesky white butterflies! They’re originally from the UK and generally menace all vegetable growers here too. They’re often called the Cabbage White!

    • Thanks Amy πŸ˜€ Always happy to oblige! Peacock butterflies hold a special place in my heart. I used to rescue the caterpillars on the nettles that they feed on from near my childhood home as the local farmers would spray the nettles with weedkiller! Releasing butterflies back into the gardens was one of best things ever πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

