31 comments on “Silent Sunday

    • Thanks, yes it is. The Greater-spotted Woodpecker to be exact πŸ˜‰ It’s our most common woodpecker in the UK but they can be quite shy! There’s a resident family at my mother-in-law’s house and I absolutely love watching their antics in the garden. This one is the female and she was climbing the telephone pole to get the best views across the garden!

    • Thanks Marso πŸ™‚ I do find that I often hold my breath when photographing birds, mostly because I get anxious that the bird will fly before I manage to get the shot! Watching birds from close by is always exhilarating and the woodpeckers are such fun characters πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jet πŸ™‚ You’re so often sharing wildlife wonders that I have never seen! Nice to be able to show you one of ours. We have three woodpeckers in the UK and the Greater-spotted is the most common. I have never seen a lesser-spotted! They’re not just less common, they’re also much smaller so harder to spot in woodland. The green woodpeckers are doing ok but there are fewer around than in my childhood. I do see them every now and then but they have evaded my camera thus far!!

Leave a Reply

