Image

WPC and Blue Monday: Vibrant Mexican Bluewing

Mexican Bluewing

WPC and Blue Monday: Vibrant Mexican Bluewing

Part of Weekly Photo Challenge: Vibrant
And Smiling Sally’s Blue Monday
Smiling Sally

31 comments on “WPC and Blue Monday: Vibrant Mexican Bluewing

    • Thanks LV πŸ™‚ This is from an event in the glasshouse at Wisley Gardens. Every winter they have tropical butterflies in there. It’s done in conjunction with the Butterfly House in Stratford that has a permanent glasshouse and provide chrysalis for butterfly houses around the country. They also do a lot of conservation work with native British species! The key to watching your own native species is learning about their habitats and foods. Planting flowers that attract butterflies in your garden could bring them to you! Most butterflies love buddleia bushes, verbena and wildflowers.

    • Bless you Laura and thanks! I don’t do the awards but it’s always lovely to be nominated πŸ™‚ I find that I struggle for time to get things posted anyway so didn’t want to add more into my schedule! It’s much appreciated and I’m always thrilled to have new people find my blog and truly enjoy my work πŸ™‚

    • I guess, a bit. It’s easier when they’re in a glasshouse!! Butterflies just totally fascinate me anyway so I’m in my element watching them for ages πŸ™‚ The actually closed the whole of Wisley today because of the weather!! I had friends up from Worthing and we’d literally just got to the Glasshouse when the told us 😦 There have been quite a lot of trees down and bits of flooding too over the weekend but I was really gutted for my friends! We went up to the Anchor at Pyrford for the afternoon so it wasn’t a completely wasted journey. Thanks Jude πŸ™‚

      • Oh that’s a shame/ Is the Anchor the pub on the lock? We went there once with the family for a post Christmas get together. Had to wait ages for our table even though we had booked! But the food was pretty good and a nice setting.

      • Yes, that’s the one!! It’s a victim of its own success really. We used to go as kids with my Nain for scampi and chips in a basket! All gone a bit posh now πŸ˜‰ We only really got a seat as the weather was so awful! It was still pretty packed out though. I sometimes go there to photograph grey wagtails on the canal πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: FREE button for your blog! | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

