Image

Blue Monday: Marvelous Morpho

Mirrored Morpho

Blue Monday: Marvelous Morpho

The Common Blue Morpho is one of the largest of all tropical butterfly species with a wing span of 75-200mm. This is peleides, a subspecies of Morpho helenor. Because of its name I would like to dedicate this post to my friend Helen on her birthday! I hope you will all enjoy my gallery of this stunning creature.

Part of Smiling Sally’s Blue Monday
Smiling Sally

32 comments on “Blue Monday: Marvelous Morpho

    • Thanks Laura πŸ™‚ Oh, I’m so jealous but also delighted for you!! They’re in a part of the world that’s not really feasible for me to travel to because of my Crohn’s but I’ve watched some fantastic footage of them flying along streams, skimming the water! Pure magic πŸ™‚

    • Absolutely my pleasure πŸ˜€ Butterflies have always been a passion of mine! I’m a member and sometimes volunteer for Butterfly Conservation UK. We’ve had such a decline in native species even since my childhood! I love our British Blue butterflies, they’re all small ones but utterly stunning πŸ™‚ I hope to photograph a few of our species over the summer!

Leave a Reply

