Image

Blue Monday: Rest In Peace Sally

Blue Tit and Blue Skies

Blue Monday: Rest In Peace Sally

I’ve been posting blue images for over two years now, linking them to the Blue Monday theme run by Smiling Sally on blogspot. Last Tuesday she passed away after a lengthy battle with congestive heart failure. Although I knew that she had recently had a spell in hospital, the news still came as a huge shock. I have never met Sally and we were very different people in many ways, but I liked her very much! She was a retired teacher, married for over fifty years with a close bond to her family. Many of her posts where about her husband, children, grandchildren or her new great-grandson. They meant they world to her and my thoughts are with them all at this sad time.

Sally always left me such lovely comments on my posts. She was amazed at how many natural blues I found in flowers, birds, butterflies and more! Her meme for the post was of the Blue Jay, a wonderful natural blue bird of the USA. I’d love to see them in the wild one day. She always loved seeing my photos of our Blue Tits from the UK and so this is what I choose to share with you all today, in remembrance of Sally. I will continue to post a Blue Monday every week to continue Sally’s wish to spread some joy and happiness around the world at the start of the week with her favourite colour.

Thank you, Sally, for all your support and for helping me find happiness on a Monday instead of feeling the unwanted blues! These galleries contain just a few of my Happy Blue Monday images.
Smiling Sally

34 comments on “Blue Monday: Rest In Peace Sally

  1. What a beautiful tribute. I am so sorry, she sounds like a thoughtful, kind soul who found a way to spread joy on a Monday. I love that you are carrying the thought along and your images all grouped together feel wrapped up like a beautiful package. Wonderful images, blue makes me smile.

    • Thanks Carrie, she was certainly a kind soul! It was nice to put the collections together actually πŸ™‚ There are so many hues of blue and it’s definitely a joyful colour! Sally would be very happy that her legacy is continuing to make people smile πŸ˜€

  2. Very touching, Sarah. Gorgeous photos, love the blue. I’m happy to say I’ve seen most of them as you blogged them, but I had no idea they were connected to Sally, or her story. We attended a funeral yesterday (our Monday) so it was blue, indeed. Best to you and to Sally’s family.

    • Thanks Ardys and condolences! Funerals are never easy. My great-grandmother left strict instructions that everyone was to wear colourful, patterned clothes and we all had to dance during the hymn Lord of The Dance πŸ™‚ A few family members rebelled! I wore pink and I danced down the aisle πŸ™‚

  3. Gosh Sarah, what a beautiful tribute to Sally….but also to your skills. Seeing a whole collection of your images like this really highlights for me just how talented and skilled you are as a photographerπŸ’•πŸ˜ŠπŸ’ž

    • Thanks so much Seonaid! It was quite emotional actually putting so many of my Blue Monday posts together. Just remembering some of the reactions I got from Sally makes me smile though πŸ™‚ I just admired her ethos, wanting people to be happy and share their happiness! She often remarked that blues in nature were very rare so it kind of became a personal mission to show how many natural blues there really are πŸ™‚

  4. Oh Sarah what a beautiful tribute to your friend. I’m sure she was a very special person. Your photos are exquisite .. She would love them. Thinking of you and her dear family. Hugs

  5. It is odd isn’t it how our blogging relationships develop. Some people we just feel a deep bond with and it is hard when they fall ill, or die. I’m sure Sally would be deeply touched by your wonderful tribute, and for carrying on the Blue Monday posts. My thoughts are with you Sarah.

  6. Sarah, I’m so sorry to hear of Sally’s passing.. May she rest in peace. I’ve enjoyed your Blue Monday posts for sometime now. I’m so glad it goes on.
    Online friendships have become a real part of our world..like old fashioned pen pals I think.

Leave a Reply

