47 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: How Could I Resist?

    • Thanks Joyce πŸ™‚ She was adorable! Met her whilst trying to get photos of the wagtails and the kingfisher on our local canal. I grew up with King Charles Cavalier spaniels and she reminded me of our Bess. The kingfisher wasn’t being as friendly!!

    • Thanks Jackie πŸ™‚ Yes, the trademark cuteness of a King Charles Cavalier spaniel! She was lovely. I met her on a recent wander down alongside our local canal. I meet lots of fun dogs when I’m there but I grew up with three King Charles spaniels so they hold a special place in my heart πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jane πŸ™‚ They’re fabulous dogs! We had three of them. William, Bess and later on Toby, who was a rescue with lots of problems but a wonderful companion all the same. I miss having them around! Love our cats loads but couldn’t have a dog in our little flat, it wouldn’t be fair. Yes, a cavaliers eyes are so incredibly endearing!

      • We are getting a puppy at the end of the year. A havanese! And we are keeping the hair long so it looks like a mini sheepdog. πŸ™‚ They’re very loving as well.

      • I can’t believe I had to look that up!!! I know Bichon dogs, they’re gorgeous πŸ™‚ Good for you letting it keep it’s fur long! It’s so very soft. We had to groom our cavaliers every day for their longer hair so you’re going to have a lot of work to do πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait to see photos when you get it!!!

      • I think we will be getting him in November. Of course the mama isn’t even pregnant yet but we are hoping!! They are wonderful dogs. They call them “velcro” dogs because they just want to be with you. ❀ Thanks Sarah!

      • Awwww! That’s so cute really πŸ™‚ Yes, spaniels can be quite like that too. Our cat Luna is a Velcro cat!! I’ve never known such a needy cat in my life! Well you still have some time to prepare and puppy-proof the house πŸ˜‰ It’s nice when you know the parent dogs! Not always possible particularly in this era of overflowing rescue centres. We met our first dogs parents and older siblings so we had a good idea of what his temperament would be like πŸ™‚ He actually exceeded all expectations!! A true one in a million.

      • Made me smile Sarah. πŸ™‚ And yes we are puppy proofing in a couple months! It’ll be great when we get the outlets installed under the couch. Then he won’t be able to get at the plugs!

      • Oh I wish I could Seonaid!! We’re in a block of flats. Ground floor but without direct access to a private garden it’s just not right to keep a dog here. It’s not allowed in the tenancy agreement anyway but knowing what dogs need I just never would!! I’ve always had animal companions and would love to have cats, dogs and more besides πŸ˜‰ I had to get tenancy agreement terms changed when I moved here to allow me to have a cat πŸ˜€ Took me ten more years to get them to agree to allowing all tenants on the ground floor and those in retirement flats with own doors to have permission for cats as pets! That was a good win πŸ™‚ They’re great companions for some of the elderly residents who don’t get out much! I really do miss dog walking. Probably why I love going on popular dog walk routes!! When I first started having to use a wheelchair, I still lived with my folks, and was loaned a push wheelchair by the Red Cross. We would all go out together with our dog, Toby, for the evening walk and I would get first hold of the lead so that Toby could race off down the road pulling me with him πŸ˜€ He absolutely loved it!! Mostly because we would all be laughing like crazy 😜

    • Thanks Julie πŸ™‚ King Charles Cavalier spaniels have such a lovely nature to them. No one can ever resist the eyes πŸ˜€ I’m so glad to have grown up with dogs like this one in my life. Couldn’t have wanted for better companions!

    • Thanks Amy πŸ™‚ I’ve had three over the years but just cats at the flat! I miss all of ours so very much. Thirteen is a really good age for a King Charles. Ours lived til twelve except for our last, Toby, who became very ill at age nine. It broke my heart that one. He was very special to me.

    • And King Charles after King Charles II, who bred them, Cavaliers, because he was, and Blenheim after the Palace where the Duke of Marlborough lived with dogs of this particular colouring and breed standard. I think it’s amusing that the Palace is named after the Battle of Blenheim in the War of Spanish Succession (in Germany naturally!) and the early breeders and owners all seem to have had their Cavalier wigs designed after their dogs! I should also add that as a child I merely had to put my hair in pigtails to win the “owner who looks most like their dog” category at local fetes πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

