Image

Unlocking The Landscape Part 2

Grey Wagtail looking for food

Unlocking The Landscape Part 2

The sapphire-jeweled kingfisher isn’t the only precious bird on the Basingstoke Canal! In the golden afternoon sunlight a gilt streak skims the water’s surface and lands on the lock gates, tail bobbing, head twisting, seeking out the insects along the shallows. The Grey Wagtail is a favourite bird of mine and I have been watching them along my local stretch of the canal for some years now. They’re very distinctive with a slate-grey back and bold yellow underside! They breed very successfully in this insect-rich environment and I hope to be watching them interacting with their fledglings again this year.

Part of the Weekly Photo Challenge: Landscape. If you missed Part 1 of my series exploring the many elements that make up the local landscape of the canal, you can view it here

26 comments on “Unlocking The Landscape Part 2

  1. What a gorgeous little bird Sarah and you’ve captured it so perfect in its environment. I can see you really enjoy being there. Thanks for sharing these gorgeous beauties with us. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  2. Superb captures of a beautiful bird which I had the fortune to see on the weir at Ludlow last year for the first time. Your photography wins hands down!

    • Oh I’m so glad you’ve been able to see them in the wild too Jude! Weirs are a good place for them πŸ™‚ I’ve been following these wagtails for some years now and often get nice images of them on the lock gates in the sunshine but the reflective ones are what I’ve really wanted to capture!! I think they really tell a better story of the wagtail’s nature πŸ™‚ Thanks so much Jude!

    • Thanks so much πŸ™‚ They patrol up and down a kilometre or so stretch of the canal all day! I know their favourite spots for hunting so mostly it’s about waiting for them to come to you and then getting the shots without startling them πŸ™‚ I really love just sitting by the canal and watching the world go by so it’s a pleasure rather than a task! They do evade me a lot, keeping to the shadows or getting spooked by other people walking the towpath, but I pretty much always get to see them when I’m down there πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ Aren’t they just!! Sort of got one in flight but I need a lot more practice πŸ˜‰ I really want to see our third wagtail, the yellow! Sometimes I’ve followed reports of sightings to find that people don’t know the difference between grey and green. These little birds are always busy somewhere along the canal when I visit and they always put a smile on my face πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

