Image

Unlocking The Landscape Part 6

Nuthatch

Unlocking The Landscape Part 6

Golden Hour

One of my favourite times of day on the Basingstoke Canal is just as the sun starts to go down. It bathes the landscape in a warm golden light, crowning the trees with a rich amber glow. I had the great pleasure of watching this chatty, little Nuthatch enjoying the last warm rays of the day, vocally announcing his territory and hunting out tasty morsels from the eroded canal banks.

Nutty about Nuthatches!

Later on along my way home, I caught some precious glimpses of our pipistrelle bats zipping through the skies above me, picking off midges and gnats for supper. I was lucky that there was just enough light left to be able to capture a few images that I’m afraid are heavily cropped but it was a thrill to watch them.

And Batty about Bats!

Part of the 7 Day Nature Photography Challenge and WPC: Landscape

44 comments on “Unlocking The Landscape Part 6

  1. I cannot believe that you managed to capture a bat in flight! How marvellous is that? Kudos to you Sarah. Your canal series has been nothing but brilliant.

    • Oh thanks Jude!!! My rather wonderful Sony a6000 tracks movement wonderfully πŸ™‚ I just really need to get a lens adapter so I can use the A mount lenses from the older camera bodies! I was really lucky to see bats out while I still had enough light πŸ˜€

  2. What a stunning capture of the canal Sarah. It looks like fairy-tale scene. The captures of the Nuthatch and the bats are absolutely gorgeous. What an adventure that must have been! :Dβ™₯

    • Thanks Andy πŸ™‚ Well it was a first for me!! They were out quite early but there’s so much insect food for them along the canal now. Would love to capture one lit. Yes the nuthatch has always been a favourite of mine and they seem to be thriving alongside the canal at the moment πŸ™‚ I love their shouty alarm call!

      • They are out early, I assumed the photos of the bats were taken last year. The bats up here are showing no sign of coming out yet, not that there are any signs of spring yet other than some daffodils. I love the nuthatches alarm call too πŸ™‚

      • No, just the other week πŸ™‚ It’s always going to be a bit ahead down here!! Our daffs are coming to an end now but the grape hyacinths are all out and I absolutely love them πŸ™‚ I have seen a few butterflies but not settling anywhere for a photo!

      • That is one thing I have seen up here, a few butterflies (peacocks and small tortoiseshells), but everything else is way behind. My parents grew grape hyacinths in the house I grew up in, for some reason they used to freak me out! The plants, not my parents! Lol! πŸ™‚

      • Pahahahaha πŸ˜‰ It would be very unfortunate to be freaked out by one’s own parents!! Grape hyacinths though? Really? What do you think it is about them? I saw the distinctive yellow of a brimstone yesterday πŸ™‚ It’s going to have to warm up again before they reappear though!

      • I’m not sure what it was about the hyacinths, I like them now. I’m guessing because the flowers didn’t appear to have petals like other flowers do. And the fact that they kind of have a rubbery appearance. I know, I must have been an odd kid! Lol! πŸ™‚
        You’re seeing all my favourites at the moment, I love the brimstones, both the moths and the butterflies – we don’t seem to get all that many brimstones up here, plenty of orange tips instead. I reckon the couple of butterflies I had seen may well have died off in the cold, we’re forecast a max of 6 degrees on Friday, dropping to almost freezing during the night! 😦

      • Oh dear lord!! Blooming winter’s back!! It’s been glorious today but I had to stay in and work. If you want to see a really alien freaky plant look up the Jade Vine! It’s just started flowering in the Wisley glasshouse and I love it for it’s weirdness πŸ˜€

      • We didn’t get the snow that was forecast, but at least it’s set to get a wee bit warmer over the next few days, up to 10C during the day!! πŸ™‚
        Wow, that really is a weird plant Sarah, I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen a turquoise flowering plant before, and it’s flowers look like seedpods. I shall look forward to seeing some of your photos of it soon πŸ™‚

      • I’m over the moon to announce that ………………rolling drums etc etc
        SPRING has arrived in FIFE!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        We’ve had a glorious day here today, temperature up to 14C and sunshine all day. Shorts, Tshirt and walking sandals weather πŸ™‚

      • It’s going again at the weekend 😦 Like what the hell is up with our weather?!? The swallows have arrived but I reckon they’re all going to fly back south again on Friday!!

        Glad you got some sunshine πŸ˜‰ Think tomorrow is going to be nice too!

      • You were right Sarah, it’s back to being quite chilly again, but at least the sun is shining πŸ™‚
        And I think you’re right about the swallows and house martins, I’m sure I saw flocks of them heading south yesterday!! We did have nice weather on Thursday too, but not quite so sunny.

      • I just got wrapped up in music all weekend so didn’t notice the cold too much πŸ˜‰ Three local gigs in four days! We had all the seasons in one day across the UK today I think. I stayed in and got on with processing!

      • Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend Sarah πŸ™‚ That’s something I miss about not living in St Just (Cornwall) any more, for a v small town, there was always one band or another playing in one of the pubs at the weekend. What’s your preferred genre of music for local gigs?

      • Oh Cornwall is known for a vibrant live music circuit πŸ˜€ I’m quite eclectic in my musical tastes but we have a lot of folk and roots acts around here. The EP launch on Saturday night was a friend of ours Claudia Stark with two other friends band, Cardboard Carousel, supporting her πŸ™‚ They’re brilliant!! Thursday was an open mic with lots of acts. Mostly quite acoustic and ambient πŸ™‚ Sunday was three other friends who have a covers band called Songbird who do a chilled out jazz and blues set. Debby has the voice of an angel!! I could happily listen to her sing all day πŸ™‚

      • You’re right about Cornwall’s live music circuit Sarah πŸ™‚ And you’re choice of listening over the weekend sounds excellent, it pretty much sums up my taste in music, perhaps with a bit of classical thrown in too πŸ™‚ I’m most envious of your jazz and blues night! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

