Image

A Bird For The Bard

The Wren

A Bird For The Bard

Happy Shakespeare Day!

Today marks the 400th Anniversary of William Shakespeare‘s death. It’s also 452 years since his birth! Forget St George, for me Shakespeare is our National Bard and I have decided to honour him with an artistic composite, picturing one of the Nation’s favourite birds, the wren. I had a few glorious moments with this beautiful little bird, early in the morning a week ago along the canal. The birdsong was such a delight and this wren kept me on my toes for a bit, flitting back and forth from one side of the canal to the other! I’ll share my other (more original) images another day as he really was a funny little character.

So why a wren you ask? Well I wanted to represent one of Shakespeare’s famous quotes within a typically English style landscape. I could have gone with a rose, a horse, a skull, the moon (done that one!), a crown, three witches, a dagger, a spot, an ass, a wall, two bees, a stage, a pound of flesh, lawyers, love (repeatedly) or dreams. Phew! But no, there’s a quote from Richard III that was astute at the time and still holds true today I think. One of The Bard’s many cutting comments on the nature of people. Wrens are fast and furious with their chatter!

Richard III by William Shakespeare
(Act I, Scene III) Gloucester to Queen Elizabeth

“The world is grown so bad, that wrens make prey where eagles dare not perch”

17 comments on “A Bird For The Bard

    • Thanks Ed πŸ™‚ Oh, they’re constantly on the move!! Even when on one branch for a moment they don’t stop hopping about. I got some great shots of it’s backside πŸ˜‰ I also got a rather amusing series when it was perching on this branch that I’m creating a composite with πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Jude but don’t do yourself down!!! Wrens are hard to photograph at all. I was thrilled to get this and a few other close shots!! I was always going to do lots of processing with it but the original images were actually really back-lit and almost dull so I went to town πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

