Image

Blue Monday: Jay

Male Jay

Blue Monday: Jay

While it may not be quite as blue as the American Blue Jay, the Jay here in the UK is very colourful too with a lovely blue flash on its’ wings. I was treated to quite a display from this lovely pair who were collecting small bits of soft, nesting material. Usually such a shy bird, they were so wrapped up in their courtship that they barely noticed me!

 

Blue Monday is hosted by Jeanne at Backyard Neighbor
Smiling Sally

29 comments on “Blue Monday: Jay

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ I can’t believe you’ve never seen one!!! I know they’re very shy but even so, I’m stunned. They’re actually quite a common member of our crow family. They like woodland areas best πŸ™‚ I see them at Wisley quite a lot. Used to get them in our old garden too as we were next to the woods. I’ve never seen them come close into the village despite all the mature trees! I think they’re just not very keen on people πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ Yes they’re one of my favourites too! So colorful πŸ˜€ I see them a fair bit at Wisley and get plenty of glimpses in the woodland alongside the canal but this was quite special really! You must have good woodland nearby yourselves. They like to keep hidden πŸ˜‰

      • We are in suburbs with quite a few trees around, not woodlands as such really, but we do for example see Jays in the garden (enticed no doubt by our oaks!) and just walking along the streets here its not uncommon to see one flapping laboriously overhead. Having all this wildlife around was one of the things that kept me sane when I get back from Kenya in 1989.

      • Nature and wildlife is the main thing that keeps me moderately sane full stop! Yes, oak trees would definitely entice them πŸ™‚ We get lots of crows, jackdaws, magpies and starlings in our gardens which is probably a bit much for a lone jay to compete with! If I ever make it to Kenya I’m not sure that I could actually come back. I would probably spend the rest of my days in a rescue and rehabilitation centre playing mum to hosts of orphans. Well, until the poaching trade and killing to protect livestock is finally done away with!! I can hope that it could be in my lifetime.

  1. Great photo of a Jay Sarah, one of the UK’s more unusual birds for people who don’t pay much attention to such things! One of my relatives wouldn’t believe me when I said it was a relatively common member of the crow family! Lol! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

