Image

Weekly Photo Challenge: Abstract

Abstract

Weekly Photo Challenge: Abstract

This week, Ben has asked us to turn the concrete and familiar into something new and mysterious! I chose to conceptualise scenes of London that I see and photograph a lot. These are my city abstracts from around The Shard and Guys’s Hospital. I took the photos on my Sony a6000 and then transferred them onto my phone to edit in Snapseed and Adobe Touch. It kept me busy on the train journey home!

46 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abstract

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ Originally I had only really thought about creating this image! Couldn’t help myself though once we were up there on Thursday πŸ˜‰ I kept seeing different ways of looking at things and how I could play around with processing! The Boiler Suit installation was a wicked subject to start with πŸ™‚

  1. Sarah, this is totally unrelated to this post, but I was just trying to find out more about an artist called James Ogilvy (he wrote and illustrated ‘Relics & Memorials of the City of London – 1910), when I came across this website showing most of the paintings of Shere (and surrounding areas), from the last 200 years. I thought you may be interested since it’s your neck of the woods πŸ™‚
    http://www.sheredelight.com/paintings.html
    BTW Love the abstract photos πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Andy πŸ™‚ Took me a while to read all on the site! There are a few paintings I recognise. I’ve seen a lot of the postcard drawings too. I was pretty sure that I knew Ogilvy’s name so it was interesting to see his painting of Silent Pool. I’m certain that I’ve seen the book of his on Surrey! I know the whole area really well πŸ™‚ What struck me the most is that contemporary artists are still depicting the area in much the same way as some of the earliest artists in the list. It’s all very romanticised! The area is very beautiful and as part of the Surrey Hills is all protected far more than other parts of Surrey so the natural beauty and heritage is not really that different. I think Shere is one of the most expensive places to buy a house in all Surrey and they don’t come on the market often! I will have to go and photograph some of the scenes depicted here πŸ™‚

      • I used to know Shere reasonably well, I have had many a pint in the White Horse! πŸ™‚ And I’m not surprised it’s one of the most expensive areas of Surrey, it was pricey in the 80’s, I’d hate to guess at property prices now!! I just wish that when I lived in Cranleigh, Bramley and Chilworth, it had been under happier circumstances – I still miss the wonderful scenery of that part of the world. I would sometimes walk to Shere, before I met my first wife, then up onto the Downs and back to Guildford πŸ™‚
        The Ogilvy book I was looking into was The Relics of the City of London, he had painted a really nice view of an old tenement building πŸ™‚
        I’ll look forward to seeing any photos from any part of that area πŸ™‚

      • Ah, the White Horse! Yes, been a while but I’ve been a patron too. Over 20yrs ago I went to college in Godalming. My aunt lives in Compton and my cousin in Bramley! Lots of ties to the area. My ex is in Chilworth so my experience from there is pretty mixed too 😦 I used to cycle the Surrey Hills a lot before I became unwell. Such wonderful countryside πŸ™‚

      • It’s crazy, I lived in the Guildford area for almost 13 years, but I never once went to Godalming. It must be something about Chilworth, that’s where my ex-wife lived when we separated.
        And you’re right, it has got some beautiful countryside πŸ™‚

      • Boxhill is beautiful, as is most of the North Downs from Guildford eastwards πŸ™‚ Just a shame you ended up getting wet! Mind you, it’s a wonderful location for thunderstorm watching, as long as your safely sitting inside a car!

      • They’re called the “Surrey Hills” these days πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I love going over Ranmore and then up to Newlands too! I used to ride a motorbike so these spots have been a part of many aspects of my life πŸ˜‰ I was really hoping that I might get rewarded with a lightning show or a rainbow but it all just went grey and hazy 😦 Another time!!

      • I was going to mention all the bikers up there, and the noise they used to create, I never realised you used to be part of the biker crowd! Lol! But they were always very considerate of other people (other than the noise aspect) πŸ™‚
        I used to walk out to Newlands Corner on a regular basis, when I first moved up to Surrey I lived in a bedsit fairly close to Guildford golf course πŸ™‚
        What a shame the weather just turned grey, it often does that with thunderstorm weather for some reason. Maybe you’ve managed to catch a good lightening show over the last 2 days, the SE of the UK appears to be getting all the exciting weather at the moment πŸ™‚

      • I’ve not been anywhere near the lightning sadly! Had hoped to get some today. Lots of heavy showers but nothing more interesting!

        Bikers (real bikers, not the show-offs!) are some of the nicest and most considerate people you could hope to meet πŸ˜€ My time spent on a bike made me a much better driver. These days the Zig Zag Road and many of the other picturesque routes around here have been taken over by the non-motorised bikes. It all started with the Olympics and now they think they own the roads. I wouldn’t mind if they didn’t come out in huge groups spread across the road! It’s made driving round those parts really quite dangerous.

      • I know that most real bikers get (or used to get a really bad press), it’s unfortunate that the few show-offs are the one’s that most people think of.
        And I agree with you about the cyclists, though as with the bikers, many are fine, but so many seem to insist on riding two or three abreast these days. When I was a kid, we went everywhere on our bikes, but most of the time in single file!

      • Single file was the rule but it seems to be a free for all now! They sometimes completely pack the entire width of the road. I don’t know if there’s a collective noun for a group of cyclists but I could suggest a Hindrance, a Hazard, a Disruption etc etc!!

Leave a Reply

