Image

Blue Monday: Softly Sought Memories

Forget-Me-Nots

Blue Monday: Softly Sought Memories

Softly Sought Memories

Recall to me these
Softly sought memories
Of hazy spring meadows
Thick with flowers,
Alive with the buzz
Of bees, the gentle
Flutter of gossamer wings,
Bright pretty things
To delight the mind
Of an innocent child,
Of the forgetful youth,
Of the hasty adolescent,
Of this wishful woman.
Recall to me those
Lazy, gentle days,
That I may become
Lost in them.

The image is of the forget-me-nots in our front gardens, which inspired my poem on reminiscence. They always remind me of Spring as a child growing up in the countryside.

Part of Blue Monday, hosted by Jeanne at Backyard Neighbor, and Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Poetry

Smiling Sally

35 comments on “Blue Monday: Softly Sought Memories

  1. Lovely, gentle poem, Sarah! And the forget-me-not is absolutely gorgeous….tack sharp amidst the gloriously soft background.

  2. Gorgeous image, Sarah, and the last lines of the poem – “Recall to me those
    Lazy, gentle days, That I may become Lost in them” – speak very much, very strongly, to me – oh, if only … A πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ I treasure the memories that I can get momentarily lost in. It’s always the visual things that spark those memories for me and I have some very precious ones that are triggered by the sight of Forget-me-nots πŸ™‚ So glad that the poem spoke to you!

  3. I enjoyed reading this, thanks for sharing. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Have a good afternoon, Sam πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

