Image

Blue Monday: Bluebells At Wisley

Bluebells at Wisley Gardens

Blue Monday: Bluebells At Wisley

Bluebells in woodland are the epitome of May!

Blue Monday is hosted by Jeanne at Backyard Neighbor
Smiling Sally

33 comments on “Blue Monday: Bluebells At Wisley

  1. This image takes me right back to France, when I was a student and used to explore the woods next to the Uni… In springs, hyacinths were out and covered the ground like a beautiful fragrant carpet. Thanks Sarah for this little bit of nostalgia πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much πŸ™‚ European woodland in spring is always a delight! Hyacinths are wonderful plants, such a heavenly scent πŸ™‚ Where abouts in France did you study? So glad to have brought back fond memories for you πŸ˜€

      • Oh wow! Pretty much directly south from me over the channel πŸ™‚ It’s years since I went to Rouen but the whole Normandy region is fascinating, rich in history and beautiful countryside. I have to admit that I have not kept up my French very well! They always say use it or lose it and that certainly goes for languages. I suspect if I went to stay out there for a while it would come back to me!

      • Yes you never totally use the language if you were fluent. It lurks deep in your brains and resurfaces when called upon. It happens to me with Spanish which I use to speak better than English but haven’t used in years… It only takes a week or so when visiting Spain and comes back…

      • I was never quite as fluent in Spanish but I find that comes back to me more easily than the French! I did both languages at school and then college. Trying to learn more Greek as we go to Kos every year πŸ™‚ I struggle with the alphabet though!!

  2. Dear Sarah, I have had trouble finding where to comment on your wonderful posts. This time I clicked on your recent posts and here I am. I am so happy.

    The bluebells are beautiful. When my sister wrote her poem she called the flowers blue bonnets. Either way the flowers are so pretty and they bloom in such profusion.

    Thank you for all of your sweet comments on my posts.
    Hugs,
    Jeanne

  3. Ah, so those are the famous English bluebells. As with some other wildflowers with blue in their name, I see them as more purple or violet than blue, especially in your second photograph.

Leave a Reply

