29 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Dunnock

    • Thanks so much John πŸ™‚ I’m a big fan of the dunnock!! Far less dull than people might think at a glance. It’s a fun time of year for watching them. They’re so fast and agile in woodland! The patterning on their plumage is so intricate when you get to watch them closely πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ I love birds!! Always have. We had such a thriving wildlife garden when I was growing up and the birds were great characters. When you’re a kid having tea in the kitchen with a robin or a blackbird I think it’s inevitable that you’re going to grow up with a head full of feathers πŸ˜‰ It’s an ongoing learning process with photographing them! I get such a buzz out of it though πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, I think that might have to go in a poem!! It just came to me πŸ™‚ I know quite a few of us. We’re easily spotted for stopping in the middle of a path and staring into the trees! I also fell out of my wheelchair going after a long-tailed tit at Hampton Court cos I wasn’t looking where I was going, went off track and into a flower bed πŸ˜‰

      • I have a wonderful vision of your wheelchair wreck, face down in the flower bed – and if only you’d been thrown out of view, it could have rivalled the Marie Celeste! – long my people like us prosper and endure!!! πŸ˜€

      • It was hilarious after I stopped hurting a lot πŸ˜‰ I was relieved that nobody was around to see!! I actually had to take a test and get a licence as it’s an electric NHS wheelchair. I passed with flying colours but they didn’t think about what would happen once I was set loose with camera in hand and birds and butterflies to chase πŸ˜‰

      • Its a motorwheelchair!!! >>> altho you’re not a granny, I’m getting more than a whiff of Hell’s Grannies here!!! πŸ˜€ Being serious (for once), I do think you have a lot of courage and spirit. A

      • I’m a step-granny I’ll have you know πŸ˜‰ The boys chose to call me Nanna even before Simon and I got hitched πŸ˜€ They’re a blessing as I was never well enough to have my own kids. Callum (5) loves the fact that his hair is blonde and curly just like mine! Charlotte (step daughter) and I decided not to explain the lack of shared genes cos it’s ever so sweet πŸ˜€ It is a wheelchair rather than a mobility scooter! I think it would actually be harder to fall out of a scooter πŸ˜‰ It’s spirit and joy that keeps me going! I get down like anyone would but I can’t ever let the illness and disability win. The wheelchair, my carers, my photography and spoken word are all ways in which I take back control and find the joy in life πŸ™‚ Thank you for your kind words and humour my friend!

    • Thanks so much Yousuf πŸ™‚ It’s all about what your passions are I guess! I love the little details in nature. I think that’s what draws me toward butterflies too! We miss so much of the beauty in the natural world when things are only seen at a glance or in the distance.

Leave a Reply

