Image

Blue Monday: Common Blue Butterfly

Common Blue Butterfly - MaleBlue Monday: Common Blue Butterfly

Common Blue Butterfly

Such shimmering blues
With rich burnished-orange hues
Colours of Summer

Blue Monday is hosted by Jeanne at Backyard Neighbor
Smiling Sally

20 comments on “Blue Monday: Common Blue Butterfly

  1. Such a beautiful photo, Sarah, with the contrasting green against the blue of this marvelous butterfly. I like seeing the butterfly in both inside and outside wing displays.

    • Thanks Jet πŸ™‚ Yes, getting the upperside of the wing is a treat brought about by a hot sunny day and being in the right area for these little beauties! It’s also nice to get the male as the female has brown colouring to the upperside much like a Brown Argus. These are my favourite British butterflies by far, absolute gems! I was really happy to see quite a number on the small area of the heath and wetlands that we visited the other day.

  2. What a blue capture, Sarah! the green background made it even more beautiful.
    Love your Blue Monday. πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. Absolutely beautiful, Sarah – I’m a great butterfly fan too, they’re certainly right up there with birds in lifting our spirits and enriching our souls. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ˜€ I think it must be things with wings!! I’ve been bird and butterfly obsessed since I was a kid πŸ˜‰ I’ve started seeing a few day flying moths too now. The blues hold a special place in my heart. It was great to be able to capture the open wings! There’s a new wetlands centre that’s been created on the edge of Horsell Common that I went to with my parents on Sunday and it was great seeing lots of blues there. Also saw a tree sparrow!! I think the area is going to be a wonderful haven over the coming years πŸ™‚

  4. Hello Sarah, Your butterfly may be common but it is a beautiful shot of the color blue. The edges of the wings shimmer.
    Happy Blue Monday. We just arrived home from vacation yesterday. Late catching up. Thank you for joining my blog party.
    Jeanne
    xo

    • Thanks Jeanne πŸ™‚ They’re my favourite butterflies of all! Even though they’re the most commonly seen of our blues I always get such joy from seeing one πŸ™‚ You had a long journey back from visiting friends so hopefully you have recovered from it now! Glad you had a fun time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

