Image

101 Reasons To Visit Kos Island

Kastri Island viewed from the ruins of Agios Stefanos

101 Reasons To Visit Kos Island

Pictures speak louder than words, so I have 101 photographs that I believe will speak directly to your hearts on the beauty and appeal of this fascinating Greek island.

My piece of advice to you all this week, as part of the WordPress Discover Challenge, is to believe what your eyes see through my images of Kos and not what the world’s media would have you believe! Visit Kos and other Greek Islands, they are affordable, welcoming, enthralling and perfectly safe. You won’t regret it!

All these photographs were taken between June 21st and July 5th 2016. Most were shot on the Sony a6000 mirrorless camera, NFC transferred to my Sony Xperia Z5 smartphone and edited in Snapseed and Adobe PS Touch Apps.

Part of WPC: Look Up for the wonderful birds of Greece!

56 comments on “101 Reasons To Visit Kos Island

  1. Decades since I visited Kos…perhaps I should go back! I didn’t see all your images as WP crashed on me part way through…..

    • We flew direct to Kos πŸ™‚ Not a huge airport but busy in the summer! Out of season we would have to travel via Athens but it wouldn’t be too bad. I hope my photos show how much more there is to Greek Islands than sandy beaches and blue seas, although they’re wonderful too πŸ˜€ Thanks Amy!

  2. I wasn’t going to scroll through all 101 images, but once I started I couldn’t stop! The birds, the butterflies, the cats… the views. They should employ you as Tourist Minister in Greece! Your love for Kos shines through and I’m glad to see some photos of Kos town because that’s where I stayed, many, many years ago. Having seen these photos I wouldn’t mind going back. So where do you stay? And do you hire a car? I have probably asked you all this before but the brain is a sieve these days…

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ I hoped I’d hook people πŸ˜‰ More to Kos than most people realise! We always stay at a simple apartment called Kefalos Studios. It’s more accurately in Kamari but the whole southern region is often referred to as Kefalos. Always hire a car!! Simon gets email alerts from Auto Europe so we always manage to book the best deal in advance. Never had any problems with them! Usually go for just a simple little Suzuki Alto. I would LOVE to be asked to go and work over there!! Genuinely think I’d be better able to make a career for myself over there than here. We will make the move eventually!! Kos needs some time to recover from all that has befallen it over the last few years. I wouldn’t want to go there and take away a job opportunity from a local islander! Hopefully the Greek economy will start to stabilise over the next few years and we can start making real plans for the future πŸ™‚ If you have a chance, do go back!! It’s such a welcoming place πŸ˜€

    • Thanks so much Julie πŸ˜€ Having the ability to send images to my phone so I can edit them makes it so much easier to put things like this together! It’s been really great for the music photography that I do too. Snapseed is basically a mini Nik Software πŸ™‚ I love it! Lots of Adobe mobile apps available now, many linked to CC so you can sync your library. Love PS touch as it’s a sort of Photoshop CC Lite πŸ˜‰ I can do various filters, layers, selection, blending etc.

  3. The “Kos” that I know the most about is the cos from trigonometry. Speaking of numbers, I’ve never known anyone to included 101 photographs in a single post.

    I see that one of your street scenes includes a Kosa Kola machine in the lower right.

    • Pythagoras, of course, was a Greek philosopher! Trigonometry comes from the Greek for triangle and much of the theorem derives from the Hellenistic era with scholars like Euclid, Archimedes and Hipparchus. The Hellenistic era was integral to the development of Kos (sometimes spelt Cos) in the field of medicine. Asclepius was revered on Kos and you can still visit the Asklepion of Kos with the ancient temple to Asclepius which was also a hospital and medical school. Hippocrates was from Kos and studied and worked at the Asklepion of Kos as well as under the famous Hippocrates Tree in Kos Town. He travelled across the islands and the mainland teaching and practicing medicine.

      • I used to teach my trigonometry students that trigon is another word for triangle. Some large dictionaries still include trigon, even though triangle has supplanted it.

      • And meter is Greek is measure of course! Asia Minor really was the seat of scientific discovery πŸ™‚ It’s why so many scientific terms are still based upon the Greek origins. My ileostomy has etymological origins from Greek, stoma is Greek for an opening πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I was determined to do so many photos after seeing how badly the island has been affected by all the bad press and drop in tourism!! For many people we know there business is down by 70% which is just awful 😦 The all-inclusive resorts haven’t been as badly affected but I don’t like them! Stay all-inclusive and you don’t actually get to see or know the place you’re visiting. It’s such a beautiful place!! I decided not to share the street scene with McDonald’s and their Greek Big Mac πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, it all started with European media scaremongering over the Greek economic crisis and then went properly nuts last year with the refugees coming over from the Turkish coast. Media loves to spin everything into a crisis! We were so cross last year. Happily getting set for our wedding, in and out of Kos Town all week and the papers in the UK and other European countries were calling Kos a hell hole, overrun with begging, criminal and violent gangs of male migrants who could also be terrorists. It was all lies!! We saw some of the refugees arrive one morning. Families with young children, all well behaved and extremely grateful to the authorities and people of Kos for taking them in and giving what little help they could. It’s almost like someone wants to bankrupt the islands so that other countries and corporations can sweep in and buy up the remaining assets!! Not that I’m cynical or anything.

Leave a Reply

