27 comments on “Blue Monday: Borage Blues

    • Thanks Chris πŸ™‚ Growing in my mother-in-law’s vegetable garden! A much larger flower than the standard borage I grow in the garden for the bees but she does actually use it as a herb! I always love how the hairy filaments catch the light πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ I have some growing for the bees here but with much smaller and darker flowers! These ones were such a fantastic sight πŸ™‚ Do you use the herb at all? Supposed to make a good tea but we usually have mint tea from the fresh apple-mint when we go to Shropshire!

      • I’m not really a tea drinker of any kind, although I have tried a few herbal ones. And some mint tea can be refreshing in the heat. I grew it to attract bees really and because I love blue flowers and this one is VERY blue. I shall have to look up in my herb book what I can use it for (other than popping the flowers in ice cubes to put into Pimms πŸ˜‰ )

      • Haha, as you’re such a lovely person I shall refrain from calling you a heathen πŸ˜‰ Tea is my drink of choice almost always! Preferably Earl Grey πŸ™‚ I do love properly made mint tea from fresh leaves, especially with a spoon of hunny in it, but I really don’t get on with other herbals in bags! Love the idea of popping the flowers into ice cubes πŸ˜€ My borage is spreading it’s way around our communal gardens and I have been moaned at a few times about it but the bees are happy so the other residents will just have get used to it πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ Like me you’re always looking for how the light plays on your subjects so I can see why this one would appeal to you artistically! It’s a great plant for insects, the bees adore it which is why I grow one variety in my own garden. It’s a very old and traditional herb that’s often still used to make tea. My mother-in-law’s vegetable garden is pretty much all heritage varieties (older English species before other cultivars took over) so it’s a fantastic garden to look around as well as being able to eat from πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Mark πŸ™‚ A very underestimated plant! I have mine purely for the bees and because I think it’s beautiful. It does tend to get a little wild and spread everywhere but I love a natural feel to gardens so my neighbours can moan as much as they like, the borage is here to stay!!

Leave a Reply

