25 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Prettily Plumed Pompoms

    • Thanks Pete πŸ™‚ I love long-tailed tits but I do wish they’d slow down a bit!! There was a whole group of them almost buzzing around the tree. I had to refrain from laughing with joy at the sight for fear of startling them πŸ˜‰

      • You are welcome. πŸ™‚ I love them also, and you always know when a bunch of them are coming, don’t you? πŸ™‚ I sometimes get them on my feeders, and they are rather busy and buzzing about. But I have never photographed them as beautifully as you have here, so well done! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, they’re fickle things. They flock in, empty the feeder in minutes and flock off again before you’ve actually managed to count them!!! I’ve been chasing them around for years with the camera now and learning more about their habits and quirks. They do love to chatter πŸ™‚ That’s the thing I listen for then try to work out which direction they’re heading in and lie in wait for them! Sometimes it works and sometimes they flock right past you without a single pose. Fickle! Still my favourite of the Tit species πŸ™‚ I still have never seen or photographed the bearded tit though! They’re on my birding bucket list. Beautiful creatures!

      • Previously I hadn’t had much luck photographing these lovely birds, and when I did get a couple of shots they always turned their heads so they looked decapitated! It was only when they began visiting my garden I managed to get some reasonable shots, but these were mainly juveniles. I have yet to photo the Bearded Tit also, and also the Coal Tit. They are on my birding bucket list, amongst many others πŸ™‚

      • Ah, coal tits we do get around here and I also get to watch and photograph them at my mother-in-law’s in Shropshire πŸ˜€ They’re awesome! The marsh tit is another little beauty that I have seen in Shropshire a lot and over the border in Wales too. They don’t have the white stripe on the back of the head that coal tits do! They’re all such quick moving birds and do really twitch their heads about. I wonder if they are nesting near you if you get lots of juveniles in the garden?

  1. Another of my favourite birds, and wonderful pictures too. I suppose I just feel that these birds look improbable in life – and pompoms is right, as would be Christmas decorations on a tree. A

  2. More of my favourite birds Sarah, the long tailed tit is so often missed by people out walking, or in their gardens. My wife was astonished when I first pointed them out in our garden, flitting from one tree to another πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

