50 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Wonders Of Winkworth

    • Thanks so much Jude πŸ™‚ It’s something about the light that really inspires me! I was hoping to get some better light on the fungi but at the moment we finally found the agarics the heavens absolutely opened on us!! We even had to cover my wheelchair with a plastic bag and stick it under a Holly tree while we hunted fungi under the beechwood πŸ˜‰ They like beech trees so look around for local groves to see if you can find the agarics!

    • Thanks Andy πŸ™‚ I should think it would!! Not far at all from where you were, just up the road in Godalming πŸ™‚ A hidden treasure that I first found back in my college days. Access is limited because of the nature of a hillside Arboretum but they do have a lower disabled carpark to get to the lake. I wish I could wander through the myriad paths on the hillsides still but the views from below and above are a real treat πŸ™‚

      • It’s amazing how much of Surrey I’ve forgotten Sarah, I think a fair chunk of my memories have been blocked out by my brain, my first marriage was not a happy or pleasant experience. it’s only since seeing your posts that I’ve started realising that Surrey is in fact not necessarily a place of bad memories! πŸ™‚
        I think I went to Winkworth Arboretum with a friend from work a couple of times soon after I started working in Surrey, it certainly looks like a photographers paradise. This guy was really into photography (he won the Young Naturalist Photographer of the Year Award in the early 1980s), so it makes sense he would go there. Alas, once I met my wife, we almost never went anywhere, and those places we did go to, I would never enjoy it 😦

      • It sounds like I may be helping you find those good memories Andy!! Very glad if I am πŸ™‚ I know how it is to virtually wipe a place and time from your memories after a painful experience. If you can recapture the good and beautiful things from that time then the person who originally caused you pain hasn’t beaten you! Have you thought about trying to get back in touch with your old work friend? My hubby lost touch with all his old school and college friends during his last marriage but all is mended now πŸ˜€ We saw a couple of them yesterday for a cuppa at Wisley! It’s lovely that I actually have a lot in common with most of his good friends so we always have a laugh πŸ™‚

      • well said Sarah, you are so right about remembering the good times in Surrey, it is a beautiful county with so much going for it! I often wish longingly that I was there under different circumstances, I loved my job, just not my home life. Surrey was, and obviously still is, a photographer/amateur historian/naturalists/geologists dream of a place, as your photos prove πŸ™‚
        It’s funny you should ask about Derek, my work friend, I found out recently that he’s got a website…………at some point I will contact him πŸ™‚ His website is
        http://www.derekcroucher.co.uk/
        if your interested πŸ™‚
        That’s wonderful that you get on really well with your hubby’s friends, and that he’s got back in contact with them again, many an ex has caused the loss of friends etc.

Leave a Reply

