Image

Golden Crown

Guild Castle surrounded by daffodils

Golden Crown

Yesterday I joined a group of local photographers for a photoramble around Guildford. We picked the wrong day! It was absolutely tipping it down with rain and most of the group gave up before reaching the Castle Grounds. Well the daffodils were truly glorious, crowning the hill with gold. Shame about the sky at the time which was grey and featureless! For my Fotospeed Challenge image I decided that I would merge a beautiful spring-blue sky from Saturday into my photo of the castle. The resulting composite is the sight that I had been imagining enjoying and capturing on our day out! Despite the rain I loved going around the grounds, seeing the beautiful daffodils, primrose and blossoms. There was so much birdsong and a real feel of life springing up around me! I am looking forward to seeing the grounds carpeted with tulips soon 🙂

24 comments on “Golden Crown

    • Thanks so very much David! I’ve developed my own way of working the blending over the years to get it looking as natural as possible 🙂 I don’t know how I managed anything at all before I discovered layer masking 😉

  1. And what a beautiful image you have created. I just need to try and shut out those rather new looking buildings to the left to make it perfect 🙂

    • Thanks Jude 🙂 I was so tempted to crop them from the camera composition but decided that they show old and new together, particularly as just behind the buildings on the left you can see all the scaffolding up for the rebuilding of the Tunsgate centre. It’s been an ever evolving part of Guildford since the first castle keep and palisade went up in about 1086! I’ll process you one of the others that’s pure castle and grounds 😉

  2. I was going to say this is what you get when you don’t give up, no matter the weather. The I read it’s a composite. Well then, this is what you get when you have photoshop skills! Beautiful!

    • It’s what you get when you don’t care about bad weather and know you’ve got enough Photoshop skills to make the image look the way it felt rather than what was actually there 😉 Learning the skills is an ongoing thing for me. I look back at some of my early attempts and wonder what on earth I thought I was doing 😉 Thanks for your lovely comment Emilio!

    • Thanks Amy 🙂 It’s a lovely spot and there are lots of different angles that show off the grounds and planting and different times of year. We used to hang out in the grounds a lot over 20yrs ago when I was at college! It’s full of memories for me 😀

    • Oh Steve, I was sat in the posh tea shop at the bottom of The Shard in London when I clicked on the link! Almost pissed myself laughing and got a few interesting looks 😉 I had a look at a few other dictionaries and they all agree that it’s a Middle Dutch derivation. The meaning was more about animals in heat, particularly cats apparently! Something about the way the wander aimlessly looking for a mate late at night 😉

Leave a Reply

