Image

Blue Monday: Lapwing Dance

Lapwing Squadron

Blue Monday: Lapwing Dance

Blue skies, with a bit of moody cloud, provided the perfect backdrop to the spectacle of two male lapwings, dancing in a display of prowess for the prospective females watching below on the nesting grounds. My composite image shows all the moves these beautiful birds went through during their display and is my entry for today’s Wex Mondays challenge. The one thing missing from the image is the distinctive sound of the lapwing’s call, a loud peewit peewit, that carried clear across the wetlands of Pulborough Brooks RSPB Reserve in West Sussex. I grew up calling lapwings by their colloquial name, taken from their call, Peewits. One of my favourite birds ever and a real treat to watch on my birthday last week!

Lapwings

21 comments on “Blue Monday: Lapwing Dance

  1. That’s so funny. Here we have a lark that is called a Peewee because that is the sound it makes! Very annoying if they decide to ‘peewee(t)’ just outside your bedroom window in the dawn chorus! That composite must have taken you some time to do, must say it grabbed my interest.

    • Thanks Ardys πŸ™‚ It was a relatively simple composite once I had a masking layer over the birds! Really enjoyed putting it together as they’re such pretty things. They only live out on wetland areas and coastal plains so not many people would be bothered by their call! I think even I would get annoyed if I had them outside my bedroom window πŸ˜‰ We have a few birds whose names come directly from their call or behaviour like the chiffchaff and wagtails. I love many of the colloquial names given to birds though πŸ™‚

      • I remember looking around Pulborough for a house to rent when we first moved down south, but never knew about the Brooks. Sounds delightful and definitely your kind of place.

      • There’s some beautiful places around Pulborough! It’s definitely my kind of place πŸ˜€ There are not many RSPB reserves in this area but it doesn’t take too long to get to Pulborough and I really must spend some time over at the Farnham reserve.

      • Is that close to the Frensham ponds area? We used to walk around there quite a lot as we lived close by for a short while and Farnham was a town we visited a lot.

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ They’re incredibly evocative of certain parts of the countryside! I saw them first in Scotland as a small child and fell in love with them πŸ™‚ Their call is just one of the most delightful sounds I think. Pulborough are trying to make their lands safer and more inviting for nesting lapwings. I spotted a few females setting up nesting spots which is great πŸ˜€ The levels are ideal for birds like lapwings!

Leave a Reply

